U.S. Army Garrison Daegu

NEWS FROM U.S. ARMY GARRISON DAEGU

News from USAG Daegu

About

USAG Daegu has the largest footprint in Korea, encompassing almost half of the country. USAG Daegu manages base operations on six U.S. Army installations and 11 sites in Area IV, stretching from Daejeon to Busan. As an enduring hub on the peninsula, we also provide support to the U.S. Navy at Fleet Activities Jinhae in Jinhae and the U.S. Marine Corps at Camp Mujuk in Pohang. Major installations include: Camps Henry, Walker, George and Carroll, Busan Pier 8 and other smaller outposts. Our major tenant units include the 19th Sustainment Command (Expeditionary,) 403rd Army Field Support Brigade-Korea and Material Supply Center-Korea. USAG Daegu, a Army Community of Excellence Award winner, is a wonderful place to live and work. Our workforce is dynamic, always making a difference in an energetic community with great opportunities that can lead to unique experiences.

Mission

Execute base operations support, programs and services to support mission readiness and quality of life in Area IV. On order, provide a support area for 8th Army contingency operations.

Vision

A community of excellence prepared for war and ready to make a difference.

History

CAMP HENRY was built by the Imperial Japanese Army in 1921, what became known as Camp Henry served as Headquarters for Jiro Minami, Governor-General of Korea between 1936 and 1942, as well as Japanes forces stationed in the Daegu area. When Korea was liberated from the Japanese in 1945, the camp was taken over by the Republic of Korea Army. During the Korean War, the camp saw little action because of its location inside the northern edge of the Pusan Perimeter. After the war, it was used by the United States. In May, 1960, the camp was named after 1st Lieutenant Frederick Henry, a Korean War Medal of Honor recipient. CAMP WALKER was originally established by the Imperial Japanese Army in 1921 during the Japanese imperial period. Later, an airfield was added. During the Korean War, the airfield was designated as K-37 or Taegu West Base. The runway was improved to an asphalt surfaced area 4,335 ft by 140 ft. Detachment F of the US Air Force 3rd Air Rescue Squadron operating Sikorsky H-5s and later Sikorsky H-19s was based at K-37 from January-June 1951. One H-5 remained at K-37 while the rest of the unit moved forward to K-16. On February 2, 1951, H-5G #48-0530 was written off in a crash 8 miles west of K-37. In 1951, the base was renamed Camp Walker in honor of General Walton Walker, commander of the Eighth Army who was killed in a jeep crash in December 1950 during the Korean War. Department of Defense Housing was first opened on the base in 1959. U.S. ARMY GARRISON DAEGU was originally constituted on October 16, 2003 in the regular Army as Area IV Support Activity. The Area IV Support Activity was re-designated as U.S. Army Garrison Daegu on March 28, 2007. The former Area IV Support Activity assumed the base operations mission from the 20th Area Support Group (subsequently relocated to Camp Carroll, South Korea in April 2005 and deactivated in June 2006), which held the mission since August 16, 1985. Activation of the Area IV Support Activity signaled the separation of the base operations mission from the 20th ASG, which had two missions including combat service support in the lower third of the Republic of Korea. USAG Daegu has earned numerous awards for excellence in installation support, underlined by recognition as a multiple winner of Army Community of Excellence Awards.
  • Colonel Brian P. Schoellhorn Garrison Commander Colonel Brian P. Schoellhorn
  • CSM Jonathon J. Blue Sr. Command Sergeant Major CSM Jonathon J. Blue Sr.