WASHINGTON -- The Department of Justice's Office for Victims of Crime (OVC) annually recognizes individuals and organizations that demonstrate outstanding service in supporting victims and victim services.

The award recipients, who are selected from public nominations in eight categories, are extraordinary individuals and programs that provide services to victims of crime. The honorees are announced just before National Crime Victims' Rights Week commences and honored at the National Crime Victims' Service Awards.

One of the eight categories is the Federal Service Award. This award honors federal employees for their direct service to victims of federal crime. The award recognizes a service provider's, professional's, or volunteer's other exceptional contributions and extraordinary impact on behalf of victims in Indian Country, on military installations, in national parks, or in other areas governed by federal jurisdiction.

The Department of Defense Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Office nominated Master Sgt. Verlean Brown, last year's Army Sexual Assault Response Coordinator of the Year, for the award and she was selected by DOJ as a Federal Service Award Winner. Brown's award was approved by the Attorney General.

Here are the details on today's ceremony:

National Crime Victims' Service Awards Ceremony
TODAY, April 16, 2010
Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium
1301 Constitution Avenue NW., Washington, DC
Time: 2:00-3:30 p.m. eastern time

Brown is a U.S. Army Reservist who serves with the 90th Sustainment Brigade, North Little Rock, Ark. She was the Army SARC of the year last year while deployed to Iraq.

Media interested in covering the ceremony should contact the Justice Department's Office of Communications at (202) 307-0703.