Army recognizes leaders in energy and water management for FY 2023

By U.S. Army Public AffairsMarch 26, 2024

(Photo Credit: Courtesy) VIEW ORIGINAL

WASHINGTON — The Department of the Army today announced the recipients of the 2023 Secretary of the Army Energy and Water Management Awards. The program, initiated in 1979, acknowledges the efforts of installations, groups and individuals who have demonstrated significant achievements in energy and water management, bolstering Army readiness.

“The Army’s management of energy and water is guided by a team of outstanding professionals, and this year’s awardees are some of our very best,” said Rachel Jacobson, Assistant Secretary of the Army for Installations, Energy and Environment.

The awards recognize advancements in energy and water resilience program effectiveness, energy efficiency, water efficiency, innovation and new technology, and individual exceptional performance.

“From microgrids to meters, their impressive accomplishments are shining examples of the kinds of best practices everyone should emulate,” Jacobson added. “Their work reflects the Army’s commitment to ensuring energy and water security as critical components of national security.”

The 2023 award recipients are:

Fort Liberty, North Carolina: For its energy and water resiliency projects, Fort Liberty has made significant strides toward meeting the Army Installation Energy and Water Strategic Plan and the Army Climate Strategy, achieving a reduction in energy use intensity by over 5% and water use intensity by over 17%.

Fort Riley, Kansas: For its Smart Metering Program, Fort Riley has installed 184 advanced electric meters, integrating them into the Fort Riley Enterprise Energy Data Reporting System to optimize energy use, a first for the installation.

Fort Knox, Kentucky: For water system infrastructure retrofits, Fort Knox has significantly upgraded its water system and improved resilience, safety and quality while also increasing its treatment capacity to 7 million gallons per day.

Rock Island Arsenal, Illinois: For its Black Start Exercise, which enhanced resilience by identifying and addressing gaps in emergency communication, planning and responsibilities.

88th Readiness Division: For comprehensive water initiatives, the division has dramatically reduced water usage by 64% from fiscal year 2018 to FY 2022, supported by several initiatives and projects.

USAG Hawaii, Hawaii: For the IJK Microgrid Project, an innovative solution that operated for 77 days and generated 90,146 kWh of electricity, preventing outages for over 3,512 families and numerous mission-critical facilities.

Individual Honorees:

Chief Warrant Officer 4 Christopher Swihart, Army National Guard Bureau

Mr. Jack Peters, U.S. Army Central

Mr. Lyman Parkhurst, USAG Italy

Mr. BJ Tomlinson, Fort Bliss

Ms. Jeannie Belew, Fort Leonard Wood

The Department of the Army commends these winners for their dedication to sustainability and innovation, which contributed significantly to the Army's energy and water resilience, said Jacobson.