CSM Steven W. McClaflin became the top-ranking noncommissioned officer of the U.S. Army Infantry School during a change of responsibility ceremony Tuesday at Ridgway Hall.

The change is one of the first key positions to transition under the new Maneuver Center
of Excellence.

"It's a time of constant transformation here at Fort Benning," said COL Bryan Owens, U.S. Army Infantry School commandant. "So many things have changed and will continue to change in the next 18 months ... However, through this fog of uncertainty, we have to rely on strong leadership to stay the course."
Input from skilled Soldiers like McClaflin and outgoing CSM Matthew Walker will ensure success during this time, he said.

"They hold the line," Owens said. "They maintain the standard and provide sound advice."

Owens said McClaflin is a proven leader.

"We have the utmost confidence in you and know that you will ensure that today's Soldiers will be ready for the challenges on tomorrow's modern battlefield," he said.
Owens thanked Walker for his service and said his contributions will be felt throughout the school for many years to come.

"Throughout this tedious process of growing our installation and our mission, (Walker) never lost sight of what really matters most - training and developing our Soldiers into Army leaders," Owens said. "Although today is a closing of a great chapter for the Walker family, today also opens the start of another chapter full of promise. Command Sergeant Major and Laura Walker leave the Infantry School in solid hands. Command Sergeant Major and Jackie McClaflin are a dynamic team, and they'll carry on the mission without skipping a beat."