The 94th Army and Missile Defense Command and Missile Defense Advocacy Alliance presented the 2020 Indo-Pacific Air and Missile Defender of the Year Awards to five service members in a ceremony at Sharkey Theater on April 16.

Mr. Riki Ellison, President and Founder of the Missile Defense Advocacy Alliance hosted the event and said, “Character matters. Leadership matters. These five represent t

(Photo Credit: U.S. Army) VIEW ORIGINAL

hat leadership.”

The awardees were Lt. Col. William Hunter, U.S. Army; Chief Warrant Officer Robert Finley, U.S. Army; Lt. Simon Mansonhing, U.S. Navy; Capt. Ryan Vath, U.S. Air Force; and Tech. Sgt. Jeremiah Tillery, U.S. Space Force.

The Air and Missile Defender of the Year Award is presented to service members that performed above and beyond expectations, and directly contributed to a free and open Indo-Pacific.

“Mahalo for the contributions to an incredibly important strategic mission that is often taken for granted,” said Lt. Gen. Michael Minihan, deputy commander of U.S. Indo-Pacific Command. “The missile defenders we celebrate today are making this difficult and complicated work happen.”