On the fifth and final day of the 2019 XVIII Airborne Corps Noncommissioned Officer and Soldier of the Year Competition, the final nine competitors braved their last challenge; the XVIII Abn. Corps board. The board is a mental test designed to test a Soldier's military bearing and knowledge when under the intense pressure of senior NCOs. Staff Sgt. Matthew Whitney, 3rd Infantry Division and Spc. Nicholas Callahan, 44th Medical Brigade, won the competition. The board and award ceremony for the winners took place at Fort Bragg, N.C. June 28, 2019.