FORT KNOX, Ky. (Army News Service, Aug. 30, 2011) -- As the nation observes the 10th anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks, the U.S. Army announced that both its NHRA and NASCAR teams will honor the Army victims of the Pentagon attack with special paint schemes at upcoming races.

At this weekend's Mac Tools U.S. Nationals in Indianapolis (Sept. 2-5), Tony Schumacher's U.S. Army Top Fuel dragster will carry the names of the 75 U.S. Army personnel killed at the Pentagon on Sept. 11, 2001.

One week later, on Sept. 10, Stewart-Haas Racing driver Ryan Newman also will carry the names of the 75 U.S. Army Pentagon victims on his No. 39 U.S. Army Chevrolet in the Wonderful Pistachios 400 NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Richmond (Va.) International Raceway.

Overall there were 125 victims in the Pentagon who were killed in the Sept. 11 attack. However, the Army racing team will be focusing on the Soldiers and Department of the Army civilians who lost their lives that day.

In addition to the listing of the names, both race cars will carry an inscription "We Will Never Forget" and sport a specially-designed logo featuring the World Trade Center twin towers, Pentagon and the American Flag.

"It will be a moving experience when we unveil the race car in Indy," said Schumacher, a seven-time world champion. "Many years later, all of us still remember that horrible day which affected so many innocent people, including those at the Pentagon. Our hearts and prayers clearly remain with the families of the victims. We will never, ever forget that terrible tragedy."

Winless thus far this season, Schumacher would love to be able to dedicate a victory and trophy to the victims' families on Labor Day.

"I couldn't think of a better time to get our first win of the year," said the Chicago-area resident. "As always, we will definitely be Army Strong on race day and give it our usual 150 percent effort."

Like Schumacher, Newman is expecting to be deeply moved by the first appearance of his Richmond race car.

"There's no question it will be an emotional time for not only my team, but the entire NASCAR family," said Newman, a 15-time Sprint Cup winner. "We all remember where we were and what we were doing when the news surfaced about the attacks. I know it will be etched in my memory forever. And, it should be that way for everyone.

"We want to win every race for the Army, but you can imagine how much more we'll want to win the Richmond event. It would be a very special, touching moment if we could drive into victory lane carrying the names of those great Americans."

U.S. Army personnel killed in the Sept. 11, 2001 Attack on the Pentagon:

Spc. Craig S. Amundson
Retired Master Sgt. Max J. Beilke
Col. Canfield D. Boone
Donna M. Bowen
Sgt. 1st Class Jose O. Calderon-Olmedo
Angelene C. Carter
Sharon A. Carver
Retired Sgt. 1st Class John J. Chada
Ada M. Davis
Lt. Col. Jerry D. Dickerson
Amelia V. Fields
Gerald P. Fisher
Cortez Ghee
Brenda C. Gibson
Retired Col. Ronald F. Golinski
Diane Hale-McKinzy
Carolyn B. Halmon
Sheila M.S. Hein
Maj. Wallace Cole Hogan Jr.
Retired Staff Sgt. Jimmie I. Holley
Peggie M. Hurt
Lt. Col. Stephen Neil Hyland Jr.
Sgt. Maj. Lacey B. Ivory
Lt. Col. Dennis M. Johnson
Brenda Kegler
David W. Laychak
Samantha L. Lightbourn-Allen
Maj. Stephen V. Long
Terence M. Lynch
Teresa M. Martin
Ada L. Mason-Acker
Lt. Col. Dean E. Mattson
Lt. Gen. Timothy J. Maude
Robert J. Maxwell
Molly L. McKenzie
Maj. Ronald D. Milam
Odessa V. Morris
Teddington H. Moy
Diana B. Padro
Maj. Clifford L. Patterson Jr.
Scott Powell
Deborah A. Ramsaur
Rhonda S. Rasmussen
Martha M. Reszke
Cecelia E. Richard
Edward V. Rowenhorst
Judy Rowlett
Robert E. Russell
Chief Warrant Officer 4 William R. Ruth
Marjorie C. Salamone
Col. David M Scales
Janice M. Scott
Michael L. Selves
Marian H. Serva
Antionette M. Sherman
Donald D. Simmons
Cheryle D. Sincock
Gary F. Smith
Patricia J. Statz
Edna L. Stephens
Sgt. Maj. Larry L. Strickland
Lt. Col. Kip P. Taylor
Sandra C. Taylor
Sgt. Tamara C. Thurman
Willie Q. Troy
Lt. Col. Karen J. Wagner
Meta L. Waller
Spc. Chin Sun Pak Wells
Staff Sgt. Maudlyn A. White
Sandra L. White
Ernest M. Willcher
Maj. Dwayne Williams
Edmond G. Young Jr.
Lisa L. Young