PENTAGON, Washington DC (Sept. 24, 2012) -- Members of the Fort Stewart, GA Environmental Division were presented with the GreenGov 2012 "Building the Future Award," one of seven GreenGov Presidential awards.

The "Building the Future Award" is the overarching award for achievements in multiple Executive Order goals.

Fort Stewart was recognized as the Department of Defense winner for their accomplishments in reducing water and energy intensity, increasing waste diversion, and protecting over 28,000 acres of surrounding wildlife habitat through partnerships with local governments and communities.

The GreenGov awards are sponsored by the White House Council on Environmental Quality and the Federal Environmental Executive, and recognize extraordinary achievements in implementation of Executive Order 13514 -- Federal Leadership in Environmental, Energy, and Economic Performance.

Council on Environmental Quality Chair Nancy Sutley, White House Cabinet Secretary Christopher Lu, and Federal Environmental Executive Jonathan Powers presented the award to Fort Stewart's delegation.

Accepting the award for the Fort Stewart Environmental Division were: Tim Beaty, fish and wildlife branch chief; Jeff Mangun, forestry branch chief; Brent Rabon, water and infrastructure section leader; Ron King, recycling section leader; and Alana Olson, sustainability program manager.

On hand to recognize Fort Stewart's achievement was: Acting Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for Installations and Environment, John Conger; Assistant Secretary of the Army for Installation, Energy and Environment, Katherine Hammack; Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Army for Environment, Safety and Occupational Health, Hew Wolfe; and Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Army for Energy and Sustainability, Richard Kidd.