Anniston Army Depot's recycling center was this year's winner of the James A. Carroll Jr. Award for Excellence in Management after being nominated for its outstanding recycling operations.

Depot Commander Col. Alexander Raulerson presented the recycling staff with the coveted award April 11 in an unofficial ceremony at the wood chipper. Each year only a handful of Morale, Welfare and Recreation facilities receive this award for the highest standards of excellence in service and management.

"Receiving this award was very important to us here at Anniston, and I commend the crew at the recycling center for all the hard work they do every day that has such a positive impact on the operations and environments on and off the depot," said Thelma McCullough, deputy director for community and family activities and depot property disposal officer.

Tough competition

Nominees for the award are evaluated on the services offered to the community, their training and awards programs, their financial performance improvement and operational business plan, among other graded areas. ANAD's submission received a 100 percent of all possible points, rating the highest of all nominees in the category of facilities with annual revenues of more than $300,000.

ANAD recycled more than 51 million pounds of recyclables in fiscal year 2006, said McCullough. Along with improving current programs, the recycling program has added new, innovative methods of recycling items used at the depot. For instance, the recycling center found a way to create usable land in places where there wasn't by using wood chips to control soil erosion and create landscape.

The recycling center thinks 'conservation' in all it does. Shirts worn by the recycling staff are made from soda bottle plastics, and hybrid vehicles used in recycling operations save fossil fuel and reduce pollution in the environment.
Recyclables from home are welcome at the recycling center. Depot and tenant employees can take their newspapers, aluminum cans, plastic bottles and glass to Bldg. 49 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. on work days.

Staff members at the recycling center whose hard work made receiving this award possible are: Alvia Garrett, Jason Cottrill, Wanda Beville, Adam Ford, Brenda Clemment, Mary Self, Brandon Montgomery, Suzanne Peoples, Curtis McDaniel, David Haynes, Sharon Cornelius, Earl Montgomery, LaNoah Ealy, Shenell Billips, and Barry Sewell.