Introducing C5ISR Hall of Fame Class of 2023

By Maya GreenMay 16, 2023

Hall of Fame trophies
Courtesy photo (Photo Credit: U.S. Army) VIEW ORIGINAL

ABERDEEN PROVING GROUND, Md. — The C5ISR Hall of Fame recognizes and memorializes former members of the C5ISR community, which includes both Soldiers and civilians from the Communications-Electronics Command, Army Contracting Command – Aberdeen Proving Ground, Combat Capabilities Development Command C5ISR Center, Program Executive Office Command, Control, Communications – Tactical, Program Executive Office for Intelligence, Electronic Warfare and Sensors, and Network Cross-Functional Team who have made a significant and enduring contribution to the community and the Army.

The Class of 2023 C5ISR Hall of Fame inductees will be honored for their contributions on June 22, 2023, at 0945 in the Myer Auditorium.

Here is a glimpse into this year’s class; a class of innovators and leaders who have made a major impact on the Army’s mission.

Retired Col. James F. Costigan
Courtesy photo (Photo Credit: U.S. Army) VIEW ORIGINAL

(Retired Col. James F. Costigan) This retired colonel played a pertinent role in the execution of the Base Realignment and Closure relocation of CECOM and C5ISR from Fort Monmouth, New Jersey to Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland. Under his leadership, over 5,000 personnel and family members across the command were relocated.

Stephen D. Kreider
Courtesy photo (Photo Credit: U.S. Army) VIEW ORIGINAL

(Stephen D. Kreider) A former Military Officer and member of the Senior Executive Service, this nominee created the Joint Experimentation Range Complex. He then went on to design the Network Integration Event which together has modernized aircraft, electronic warfare, biometrics and Intelligence, Surveillance, and Reconnaissance.

Steven Pizzo
Courtesy photo (Photo Credit: U.S. Army) VIEW ORIGINAL

(Steven Pizzo) His service started at Fort Monmouth, New Jersey but has had a universal effect on the installation and Army. Within the research and development community, the nominee is recognized as one of the Army’s preeminent systems engineers for Special Electronic Mission Aircraft and highly complex airborne SIGNIT systems.

Edward J. Plitcha
Courtesy photo (Photo Credit: U.S. Army) VIEW ORIGINAL

(Edward J. Plitcha) He is a nationally renowned inventor and subject matter expert with decades worth of experience in science and engineering. A few of his inventions are the high voltage stable ternary mixed alkyl carbonate low temperature electrolytes, the Charger-On-the-Move and the first bipolar molten salt battery for the Electro-magnetic Gun and Electro-Thermal Chemical Gun Programs.

Frank Zaradecki
Courtesy photo (Photo Credit: U.S. Army) VIEW ORIGINAL

(Frank Zaradecki) This U.S. Air Force veteran was the driving force in establishing the Tobyhanna Army Depot as the premier electronics depot in the Department of Defense. His leadership and vision led TYAD to invest and develop critical infrastructure, workforce skills and processes that improved the competitiveness of the depot and brought new mission to TYAD.

To watch the ceremony, visit: