Tagnite Team Awarded for Environmental Excellence in Weapon System Acquisition

By US Army CCDC Army Research LaboratoryJuly 18, 2019

Tagnite Team Award Receipients
(Photo Credit: U.S. Army) VIEW ORIGINAL

The Honorable Alex Beehler, Assistant Secretary of the Army Installations, Energy and Environment, presented the award for Environmental Excellence in Weapon System Acquisition, Small Program to the Tagnite Technical Working Group, CCDC's Army Research Laboratory at APG, Maryland, July 18, 2019.

The Tagnite Team developed and demonstrated a magnesium weapon system component manufacturing capability using both Tagnite anodizing immersion and brush application. This method reduces exposure to hexavalent chromium, a carcinogen, and provides a more durable and corrosion resistant surface compared to traditional finishes. Switching to Tagnite anodizing is projected to save the Apache Helicopter program nearly $1.2 million per year through fiscal 2024.

The team includes members from across DOD, including two CCDC-ARL employees, # Kyu Cho and Deborah Cummins. Other awardees present at the ceremony were Kimberly Watts, Brooke Conway and Noah Lieb. Attending via video teleconference were fellow awardees Scott Howison, Mark Feathers, Meghan Clardy, Bill Gorman, Elizabeth Berman, Jonathan Williams, Michael Kane, Julia Russell, Sandra Gray, Tony Cereceres, Bert Hernandez, Evelyn Mefford, Matthew Trevino, Ricky McNalley, Mary Beth Goode, Robin Nissan and Jeremy Smith.