8th TSC recognizes Dr. Mary E. Walker and Sergeant Audie Murphy award recipients

By Sgt. 1st Class Wynn HokeJune 12, 2019

8th TSC recognizes Dr. Mary E. Walker and Sergeant Audie Murphy award recipients
(From Left to Right) Col. Gregory Boyd, 8th TSC Deputy Commanding Officer, Command Sgt. Major Bradley Waters, 2nd BCT, 25th ID and spouse to Philondrea C. Waters, Sgt. 1st Class Jonathan Amoakohene, 8th Military Police Brigade, and Command Sgt. Majo... (Photo Credit: U.S. Army) VIEW ORIGINAL

FORT SHAFTER, Hawaii -- Two individuals where recognized June 12 by the 8th Theater Sustainment Command's Deputy Commanding Officer Col. Gregory Boyd and senior enlisted advisor, Command Sgt. Major Maurice Chaplin for their outstanding dedication as a military spouse and the other for his contributions to the Non-Commissioned Officer Corps.

The two awards presented were the Dr. Mary E. Walker Award and the Sergeant Audie Murphy award.

During his remarks, Command Sgt. Maj. Chaplin emphasized the importance of the traditions behind these awards and the need for the command to continue to pay special tribute and recognize recipients to ensure that their hard work and dedication to our Army and nation doesn't go unnoticed.

The Dr. Mary E. Walker Award stems from the plight of the only female Medal of Honor recipient, who received the medal in 1865 for her volunteer actions as a field surgeon during the Civil War. Dr. Walker's memory and contributions live on through the recipients of the award in her name.

Philondrea C. Waters, an Army spouse received the Dr. Mary E. Walker Award for her exemplary volunteerism, which has improved the quality of life for Soldiers and their families.

Sgt. 1st Class Jonathan Amoakohene, assigned to the 8th Military Police Brigade was inducted into the Sgt. Audie Murphy organization.

The Sergeant Audie Murphy award is given to elite NCOs who have demonstrated inherent leadership qualities while performing exceptionally in their units and local community.

Boyd closed the ceremony by highlighting the resonating theme throughout the ceremony of was service; commitment to the Army and nation.

"These two individuals are setting the example for all," said Boyd. "They are the type of leaders that everyone can look up to and emulate."

Congratulations to the newest Dr. Mary E. Walker and Sgt. Audie Murphy recipients.