The Deputy Commanding General for 1st Special Forces Command (Airborne), Col. Richard E. Angle, presented members of the Group Support Battalion (GSB), and 3rd Battalion, with U.S. Army Special Operations Command's FY17 Supply Excellence Award (SEA).

Six awardees from two battalions were recognized and presented tokens of appreciation for their achievements in supply acumen during the Department of the Army and 1st Special Forces Command (Airborne) Supply Excellence Award ceremony for calendar year 2016 and fiscal year 2017.

The SEA competition is an annual event serving to focus on DA logisticians and showcase the critical role they play in supporting the warfighter.

Throughout the year, supply units Army-wide were evaluated in the areas of supply operations, maintenance and deployment operations spanning all components. The 7th SFG (A) soldiers stood apart from the rest and took top honors.

All of the awardees were gracious for the appreciation and made it clear that their success was anything but a one-man job.

"It wasn't just something that I did," said Staff Sgt. Louis Irizarry, Supply Support Activity non-commissioned officer in charge, GSB, 7th SFG (A). "We currently have 19 people assigned who contributed to this award. There were multiple units, including six different sections. A lot of time and manpower existed behind this effort to get everyone prepared."

Sgt. William Boshers, 7th SFG (A) warehouse stock control non-commissioned officer in charge, GSB, 7th SFG (A) added that their victory took much preparation, not just for the NCOIC, but for the warehouse as a whole.

With this show of promptness, the logistics soldiers of the 7th SFG (A) displayed that they are well-equipped to enhance the logistical readiness of the 1st SFG (A) organizations, 7th SFG (A) and the entire Army.

Both the winners and runner ups will be recognized on 01 Mar. 2018 at the Combined Logistics Excellence Award (CLEA) ceremony at Fort Bragg, and compete in the Headquarters Department of the Army, Chief of Staff, Army Supply Excellence Award competition.