FORT BRAGG, N.C. -- U.S. Army Forces Command (FORSCOM) named an air defense squad leader from Fort Bragg, N.C., and an infantryman from Fort Drum, N.Y., as the command's 2015 Noncommissioned Officer and Soldier of the year, respectively, during an evening banquet culminating five days of grueling competition at Fort Bragg, N.C., Aug. 27, 2015.

Sgt. James Gawlowski, air defense squad leader, D Battery, 3rd Battalion, 4th Air Defense Artillery Regiment, 108th Air Defense Artillery Brigade, Fort Bragg, N.C., and Sgt. Justin M. McLendon, and infantryman assigned to A Company, 2nd Battalion, 4th Infantry Regiment, 10th Mountain Division, Fort Drum, N.Y. excelled during five days of physically and mentally challenging events competing against fellow Soldiers from across the Army.

Gawlowski and McLendon will now represent FORSCOM against Army-wide competition at the U.S. Army 2015 Best Warrior Competition at Fort A.P. Hill, Va., Oct. 4-12.

For more information about the upcoming Army competition, visit