FORT LEE, Va. -- The U.S. Army Ordnance School hosted a rededication ceremony for the Chief Warrant Officer 4 Harrison E. Robinson Conference Room Oct. 18.

Robinson joined the U.S. Army in February 1946 and after only seven years as a maintenance technician was promoted to master sergeant. From 1953 to 1961, Robinson served in many leadership positions in the 82nd Airborne Division. In April 1961, he was appointed a warrant officer and served as a maintenance officer in the 82nd and 101st Airborne divisions, 10th Special Forces and the 7th Army in Europe.

He retired after more than 30 years of service in the Ordnance Corps. Robinson was inducted into the Ordnance Corps Hall of Fame in 1990.

Originally, the conference room was dedicated on May 9, 1996, at the former Ordnance School which was located at Aberdeen Proving Ground, Md. As part of the 2005 Base Realignment and Closure initiative the school moved here.

"When we moved from Aberdeen to Fort Lee, we not only moved our equipment and personnel, but our history as well," said Col. John F. Haley, Chief of Ordnance and Ordnance School commandant. "So it is fitting that we gather here to rededicate this conference room."

Many of Robinson's family members were in attendance for the ceremony, and one of his daughters gave insight into what her father was like when he was at home.

"He was a very giving person, always ready to teach other people," said Priscilla Meadows, Robinson's second oldest daughter. "He was spit-shined every day, no nonsense, but always willing to listen and was very fair."

According to Haley, the conference room rededication serves three purposes: it commemorates Robinson's remarkable service; honors his family; and provides constant inspiration for all the Soldiers who train on the ordnance campus.

"Chief Robinson was one of the many outstanding ordnance officers who contributed to the rich heritage of the corps," Haley said. "It is fitting we brought that history here."

Robinson's awards and decorations included the Legion of Merit, Bronze Star Medal (3rd award), Meritorious Service Medal (2nd award), Army Commendation Medal (4th award), and Master Parachutist and Mechanic badge.