ROCK ISLAND, Ill. -- During a morning ceremony at Rock Island Arsenal's Heritage Hall, the Army Materiel Command announced the best noncommissioned officer and Soldier to represent the command at the Department of the Army Best Warrior Competition in October at Fort Lee, Va.

Staff Sgt. Andrew Gregory, U.S. Army Sustainment Command, a subordinate command of AMC which is headquartered on Rock Island Arsenal, Ill., was named AMC NCO of the Year.

Sgt. Ryan Lewis, Military Surface Deployment and Distribution Command, was announced as AMC Soldier of the Year. The SDDC is also a subordinate command of AMC and is headquartered at Scott Air Force Base, Ill.

Gregory will compete against other selected NCOs from major Army command units around the globe to earn the prestige of being the named the best in the Army. Because Lewis was promoted into the ranks of the NCO Corps while competing, he will continue to compete at the Soldier-level, not as an NCO, in accordance with the Army competition rules.

The Army event is scheduled to take place Oct. 15-17.

The runner-up for AMC NCO of the Year was Sgt. 1st Class Alexander Rodriguez, TACOM, Warren, Mich., and the AMC Soldier of the Year runner-up was Spc. Alisha Bailey, AMC Band, Redstone Arsenal, Ala. Both will continue to hone their skills and remain ready to represent AMC if Gregory or Lewis are unable to compete at the DA-level.

Gregory and Lewis competed against NCOs and Soldiers from six of the 11 major subordinate commands of AMC.

The competitors and the commands they represented during the 2013 AMC Best Warrior Competition were:
• Sgt. 1st Class Tomekia Branch, SDDC.
• Sgt. 1st Class Alexander Rodriguez, TACOM. (Runner-up, AMC NCO of the Year)
• Staff Sgt. Andrew Gregory, ASC. (Winner, AMC NCO of the Year)
• Staff Sgt. Miguel Martinez, U.S. Army Contracting Command, Redstone Arsenal, Ala.
• Staff Sgt. Joshua Menninger, U.S. Army Research, Development and Engineering Command, Aberdeen Proving Ground, Md.
• Staff Sgt. Christopher Stone, AMC Band.
• Sgt. Ryan Lewis, SDDC. (Winner, AMC Soldier of the Year)
• Spc. Alisha Bailey, AMC Band, (Runner-up, AMC Soldier of the Year)