FORT LEE, Va. - The U.S. Army Transportation Corps bid farewell to Brig. Gen. Stephen E. Farmen, Chief of Transportation and Transportation School commandant, during a relinquishment of command ceremony April 12.

"When Brig. Gen. Farmen took the reins as the 26th Chief of Transportation, he looked up and out and led the corps as a warfighter logistician," said Maj. Gen. Larry D. Wyche, Combined Arms Support Command and Fort Lee commanding general. "Today, the corps is postured for successful execution of their mission because of his leadership, strategic thinking and warrior spirit."

Farmen was credited with many accomplishments during his two-year command including leading the way in credentialing military truck drivers and ensuring training was realistic, tough and demanding, Wyche added.

During his remarks, Farmen spoke about what the Transportation Corps has done to transition from an Army at war, to an Army in preparation. He specifically thanked the Soldiers and civilians for their part in making the corps successful.

"What can I say, at the end of the day, it is all about you," Farmen said. "We can have all the technology and equipment you could ever dream of, but you provide the human factor that gives our Transportation Corps meaning."

Col. Nancy J. Grandy, Transportation School assistant commandant, will act as the interim Transportation School commandant until a replacement is named.

The Transportation School is responsible for providing instruction for approximately 17,000 students annually in eight enlisted career fields, three warrant officer specialties and one officer area of concentration. Training is provided at 32 locations representing active, Reserve, and National Guard Soldiers. Areas of training include motor transport, watercraft, cargo handling, movement control and traffic management, and air, sea and rail terminal operations.

Farmen will be departing Fort Lee to take command of the 19th Sustainment Command (Expeditionary), Eighth U.S. Army, Republic of Korea. He has served as the Chief of Transportation since April 2011.