Skip to Main Content


Best Warrior Competition Winners

Warriors for Soldier of the Year include the ranks of private through specialist, and Warriors for NCO of the Year include ranks corporal through sergeant first class. All Army Active Duty, National Guard and Reserve-Component Soldiers are eligible to compete.

2014 Winners:

  • Noncommissioned Officer of the Year
    Sgt. 1st Class Carpenter, MatthewUSASOC
    Sgt. 1st Class Carpenter, Matthew

    Assigned Unit: 10th Special Forces Group (Airborne)

    Military Occupation Specialty: 18 C - Special Forces Engineer Sergeant

    Hometown: Fort Carson, Colorado

    Years in Service: 15

  • Soldier of the Year
    Spc. Boyd, ThomasUSARPAC
    Spc. Boyd, Thomas

    Assigned Unit: Headquarters and Headquarters Detachment, 500th Military Intelligence Brigade, Schofield Barracks, Hawaii

    Military Occupation Specialty: 35P - Cryptologic Linguist

    Hometown: Alexandria, Virginia

    Years in Service: Three

  • NCO of the Year Winners

    2013: Sgt. 1st Class Jason J. Manella

    2012: Staff Sgt. Matthew M. Senna

    2011: Sgt. Guy Mellow

    2010: Staff Sgt. Christopher McDougall

    2009: Sgt. 1st Class Aaron Beckman

    2008: Staff Sgt. Michael Noyce Merino

    2007: Staff Sgt. Jason Seifert

    2006: Sgt. 1st Class Jason Alexander

    2005: Sgt. Jeremy Kamphuis

    2004: Staff Sgt. Andrew Bullock

    2003: Staff Sgt. James Luby

    2002: Sgt. 1st Class Jeffery T. Stitzel

  • Soldier of the Year Winners

    2013: Spc. Adam Christensen

    2012: Spc. Saral Shrestha

    2011: Spc. Thomas M. Hauser

    2010: Sgt. Sherri Gallagher

    2009: Spc. Clancey Henderson

    2008: Sgt. David R. Obray

    2007: Cpl. Heyz Seeker

    2006: Spc. John Emmett

    2005: Sgt. Chad Steuck

    2004: Spc. Wilfredo Mendez

    2003: Spc. Russell Burnham

    2002: Spc. Justin Brown