FORT BENNING, Ga. - Six former and current Fort Benning Soldiers are among 38 Officer Candidate School graduates to be inducted today into the Army Officer Candidate School Hall of Fame.

COL Stanley Tunstall Sr., COL Barrie Town, LTC Martin Reyna, LTC James Wheeler, COL(R) Fred Berger and COL(R) Earl Ingram will join more than 2,000 OCS graduates whose names are inscribed in the Hall of Fame at Wigle Hall on Fort Benning.

Other inductees include COL(R) Frank Everett Jr., a World War II heavy machine gun platoon commander who participated in the liberation of France, and the late COL Frank Norton Jr., a recipient of the Distinguished Service Medal, the nation's third-highest award.

The OCS Hall of Fame was formed 50 years ago to recognize those who have distinguished themselves with superior performance in their military or civilian careers, said LTC Dean Bushnell, commander of 3rd Battalion (OCS), 11th Infantry Regiment.

Recipients have been formally commissioned in the federal OCS program and past inductees range from ambassadors to general officers.

MG Raymond Carpenter, acting director of the Army National Guard bureau in Washington and recipient of the Legion of Merit, is the guest speaker for the event.

The ceremony begins at the Columbus Convention and Trade Center at 3 p.m., with a reception following.

Page last updated Fri July 22nd, 2011 at 12:16