Stand-to! update Beginning May 2022, STAND-TO! will no longer be published on and/or distributed to its subscribers. Please continue to learn about the U.S. Army on and follow @USArmy on our social media platforms. Thank you for your continued interest in learning about the U.S. Army.

Army Safety Awards Program

Friday, September 5, 2014

What is it?

The Army Safety Awards Program is designed to promote and motivate success in accident prevention through risk management by recognizing individual and unit accomplishments in safety. It features positive measurements of current Army goals, improved plaques and certificates, and streamlined submission procedures. The program allows organizations to develop additional awards tailored to meet their unique accident prevention and safety recognition goals.

Current awards include the Headquarters Safety Award; Exceptional Organization Safety Award; Individual Award of Excellence in Safety; Guardian Safety Award; Sergeant Major of the Army Superior Soldier Safety Award; Aviation Broken Wing Award; Director of Army Safety Risk Management Award; Industrial Operations Safety Award; Excellence in Explosives Safety Award; Accident Prevention Award of Accomplishment; Aircrew Safety Award; Unit Impact Awards; Safety Excellence Streamer; Unit Safety Certification Award; and 10,000 Army Aviation Flight Hour Award.

Why is this important to the Army?

Regardless of grade or rank, safety is everyone’s business. Recognition breeds competition, and each commander wants his or her organization to be the best. Preventing accidents and protecting resources through implementation of effective safety programs sets the stage for optimal success. Individuals and organizations that succeed should be recognized and rewarded for keeping their formations safe.

What has the Army done?

For more than a decade, the Army Safety Office and U.S. Army Combat Readiness/Safety Center have worked together to ensure the Army Safety Awards Program remains strong and effective by making awards available while supporting and emphasizing competition as a vital component of the overall selection and recognition process.

What efforts does the Army plan to continue in the future?

The ASO and USACRC/Safety Center will continue providing oversight of the program, ensuring efforts put forth by individuals and organizations to mitigate, reduce and eliminate accidents are recognized and rewarded. Most of the awards mentioned above have a Dec. 15, 2014, submission deadline. The remainder can be submitted anytime throughout the year.


Subscribe to STAND-TO! to learn about the U.S. Army initiatives.