Heroes of their generation and for a new generation.

Valor 24 Recipients

On Mar. 18, 2014, President Barack Obama presented 24 Army veterans with the Medal of Honor in one of the largest Medal of Honor ceremonies in history. Each of these Soldiers' bravery was previously recognized by award of the Distinguished Service Cross, the nation's second highest award; that award was upgraded to the Medal of Honor. Congressional review and the 2002 National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) prompted a review of Jewish American and Hispanic American veteran war records from WWII, the Korean War and the Vietnam War. During the review, records of several Soldiers of neither Jewish nor Hispanic descent were found to display criteria worthy of the Medal of Honor. The 2002 NDAA was amended to allow these Soldiers to be honored with the upgrade - in addition to the Jewish and Hispanic American Soldiers. The White House ceremony on Mar. 18 recognized these 24 men for their gallantry, intrepidity and heroism above and beyond the call of duty. The United States Army is proud of these Soldiers and glad to see their professionalism, service and sacrifice being recognized again - in full view of a new generation.

World War II

    Korean War

      Vietnam War

        *Living recipient at time of award