BAGRAM AIRFIELD, Afghanistan--Soldiers from the 4th Brigade Support Battalion, 27th Brigade Combat Team, a New York Army National Guard unit, deployed with the 401st Army Field Support Brigade across the battle space in Afghanistan were recognized for their work supporting equipment retrograde missions during several awards ceremonies recently.

The first awards ceremony was held Dec. 21 at Bagram Airfield with Lt. Col. Todd W. Burnley, AFSBn-Bagram commander, recognizing the work of the 4/27 Soldiers assigned to AFSBn-Bagram. Bronze Star Medals were awarded to Capt. Randall Baker, Capt. Victoria Depaulis, Capt. Odelle Despot, Capt. Frederick Miles, 1st Lt. Michael Kandora, 1st Lt. Eric Richardson and 1st Sgt. Nathan Hawker.

Army Commendation Medals were awarded to Capt. Matthew Scheuer, 1st Lt. William Lee, 1st Lt. Eric Leon, 1st Lt. Steven Ligouri, Chief Warrant Officer 2 William Grodnick, Staff Sgt. Everett Vanorden, Sgt. Jason Brockway, Sgt. Erick Cruz, Sgt. Christopher Manns, Sgt. Riener Mongerson, Sgt. Sokah Prak, Sgt. Michael Reidy, Sgt. Devon Schwarz, Sgt. Wilson Silvatomala, Sgt. Marlana Watson, Spc. Elvis King, Spc. Amanda Morse, Spc. Byron Murray and Spc. Francis Villegas.
Army Achievement Medals were also awarded to 1st Lt. William Lee, Sgt. Christopher Manns and Sgt. Wilson Silvatomala.

Combat Action Badges were awarded to 1st Lt. Steven Ligouri and Sgt. Christopher Manns.
Lieutenant Colonel Stephen, M. Bousquet, 4th BSN commander was awarded a Bronze Star Medal for his leadership and contributions as the 4/27 commander and 401st deputy support operations director on Dec. 22 by Col. Mark A. Paget, 401st AFSB commander.

The final awards ceremony was held Dec. 25 at AFSBn-Kandahar where Brig. Gen. Kristin K. French, Joint Sustainment Command-Afghanistan commander, presented Bronze Star Medals to Capt. William F. Fitzsimons, Capt. Nicholas J. Tommaso, Master Sgt. Jamie L. Miller and Sgt. 1st Class Mark E. Simsick.

Army Commendation Medals were awarded to 1st Lt. Michael C. Costello, 2nd Lt. Jeffrey T. Phillips, Chief Warrant Officer 2 Robin A. Steele, Warrant Officer Michael C. Keller, Sgt. Phillip R. Kay, Sgt. William J. Rollins, Sgt. Ronald L. Thomas, Spc. Stephen P Barrant, Spc, Raul A. Garcia and Spc. Todd E. Thomas.

An Army Achievement Medal was awarded to Sgt. Gregory J. Dippel.
Afghanistan Campaign Medals and NATO Medals were presented to Sgt. Nerys Baez-Tejada, Sgt. Lawrence Harris and Private 1st Class Joshua Persichilli.

The Soldiers deployed as part of the CENTCOM Materiel Recovery Element from Apr. 15 to Dec. 30, 2012 and supported 401st missions related to retrograde of non-mission essential equipment from the theater. Their missions included redistribution property assistance teams, mobile RPATs, ammunition abatement and customs inspection.

Editor's note: Please visit the 401st AFSB Flickr page at to see more photos from the awards ceremonies.