ROCK ISLAND, Ill. -- After a grueling three-day competition the Army Materiel Command announced its Best Warrior Noncommissioned Officer and Soldier July 18.

Staff Sgt. Markus Whisman, representing AMC's Research, Development and Engineering Command, was chosen as AMC's Best Warrior NCO of the Year.

AMC's Best Warrior Soldier of the Year for 2012 is Surface Deployment and Distribution Command's Spc. James Conklin. This is the fifth consecutive year an SDDC Soldier has been recognized as an AMC Best Warrior.

Both Soldiers will advance to represent AMC at the Department of the Army competition in August.

Five competitors, one Soldier and four NCOs, were tested on a variety of mental and physical events each day of the competition. The events began at 4:30 a.m. on Monday, July 16, and ended with the announcement of the winner at a noontime luncheon at Rock Island Arsenal's Golf Course clubhouse July 18.

The Best Warrior Competition is open to all Soldiers in two categories. The NCO category includes corporal through sergeant first class and the Soldier category includes private through specialist.

Competing alongside Whisman and Conklin at this year's competition were Sgt. 1st Class Jay Denton, Army Sustainment Command; Staff Sgt. Jeremiah Scheil, Army Contracting Command; and Sgt. Richard Gonzalez, SDDC.