HUNTSVILLE, Ala. -- The U.S. Army Contracting Command recognized outstanding individual and team performance at its third annual contracting awards ceremony here May 16.

"It's an honor for me to recognize the recipients for their hard work and dedication," said Carol Lowman, ACC executive director. "These professionals exemplify the best of this command and are the type of individuals others can aspire to become."

The awards were presented for excellence in acquisition, contracting and small business.

Selectees were recognized for their outstanding achievements between October 1, 2010 and September 30, 2011. An awards panel comprised of representatives from ACC, the Expeditionary Contracting Command, the Mission and Installation Contracting Command and the major ACC contracting centers reviewed more than 200 nominations before making the

This year the big winner was ACC-Aberdeen Proving Ground (Md.), the recipient of nine awards. Teams and personnel from ACC-Redstone Arsenal and the Expeditionary Contracting Command received seven awards each. Mission and Installation Contracting Command teams and personnel received five awards. ACC-Warren (Mich.) and ACC-Rock Island (Ill.) received three awards each. Teams and personnel from ACC-New Jersey and ACC-National Capital Region received two awards each.

The recipients are:

Outstanding Contingency Contracting Officer -- Officer: Maj. Christopher Center, MICC-Fort Drum
Outstanding Contingency Contracting Officer -- NCO: Master Sgt. Julie Saorrono, ECC - Fort Knox
Outstanding Contingency Contracting Officer -- Civilian: Sabin Joseph, ACC-APG
Outstanding Contracting Officer -- Major Weapon Systems: Shannon Jewell, ACC-WRN
Outstanding Contract Specialist - MWS-Specialist: Shannon Hepner, ACC-WRN
Outstanding Contracting Officer -- Other Than Major Weapon Systems: Gwen Meadows, ACC- APG
Outstanding Contract Specialist - OTMWS: Lisa Nakamoto, ECC - Fort Shafter
Outstanding Price Analyst -- MWS: Stephanie Benfante, ACC-NJ
Outstanding Price Analyst -- OTMWS: Richard Jenkins, ACC-NCR
ACC Excellence in Acquisition Leadership -- MWS: Joan Detchemendy, ACC-RSA
ACC Excellence in Acquisition Leadership -- OTMWS: Gregory Davies, ACC-APG
Outstanding Procurement Analyst -- MWS: Stephanie Pascale, ACC-NJ
Outstanding Procurement Analyst -- OTMWS: Maj. Donald Leath, ECC 408th contracting Support Brigade
Outstanding Workforce Development Specialist -- Individual: Roxanne Barbaris, ACC-APG
Outstanding Workforce Development Specialist -- Team: Career Management Team, ACC-NCR
Outstanding Intern of the Year Award -- MWS: Adam Kimbro, ACC-RSA
Outstanding Intern of the Year Award -- OTMWS: Kimberly Ross, MICC- YUMA Proving Ground
ACC Innovation Award -- MWS: Apache Sensors Division-Performance Based Logistics Team, ACC-RSA
ACC Innovation Award - OTMWS: Expedited Professional & Engineering Support Services and Strategic Services Team, ACC-RSA
ACC Innovation Award - BRAC AUTOMATION Sub-Integrated Process Team: ACC-Warren
ACC Ability One Award: Deborah Ault, MICC- Fort Knox
Outstanding Mission Support/Business Operations Award -- OTMWS: Contracting Operations Team, ACC-APG
Outstanding Mission Support/Business Operations Award - Non-Acquisition: Human Resources/Strategic Planning Team, ACC-Warren
Outstanding Active Duty Military Officer Award -- MWS: Lt. Col. Jeffrey Caldwell, ACC-RSA
Outstanding Active Duty Military Officer Award --OTMWS: Maj. Matthew Phelps, ECC-Kadena Air Base Korea
Outstanding Active Duty NCO Award -- OTMWS: Sgt. 1st Class Adriana Underdue, ACC- APG
Acquisition Change Advocate Awards -- OTMWS: Carole Hubbard, ACC-RSA
Acquisition Change Advocate Awards -- Non Acquisition: Enterprise Resource Team, ACC-APG
Excellence in Direct Sales Contracting: Debby Broyles, ACC-RI
Small Business Specialist (SBS) of the Year: Annette Arkeketa-Rendon, MICC--Fort Sill
Small Business Champion: Melanie Johnson, ACC-RI
Small Business Champion: Bryan Sasaki, ACC-RSA
Small Business Champion: Donna Campbell, ECC- Fort Shafter
Small Business Program Supporter of the Year: Bethany Rosser, MICC-Fort Eustis
Customer Service Excellence Award: 413 GPC, ECC 413th CSB
Personal Development Achievement Award: Adelaide Tkatch, ACC-RI
Personal Development Achievement Award: Joseph Clay, ECC- Fort Shafter
Public Affairs Liaison of the Year: Betsy Kozak, ACC-APG