ABERDEEN PROVING GROUND, Md. - The APG News placed third in the metro category in this year's IMCOM-level Maj. Gen. Keith L. Ware public affairs communications competition.The U.S. Army Installation Management Command announced the results Feb. 21. Winners were chosen from among more than 400 submissions in 39 categories from IMCOM garrisons around the world."This is an impressive win for the APG News, considering we were competing against larger newspapers and larger staffs" said Terri Kaltenbacher, APG Acting Public Affairs Officer.The annual awards program recognizes military and civilian employee practitioners for journalistic excellence and furthering the objectives of the Department of the Army public affairs program.APG News took third against first place's Joint Base Lewis-McChord's Northwest Guardian newspaper and the Fort Campbell Courier, which placed second."These are historically two of the Army's best newspapers," explained APG News Editor Adriane Foss. "And due to its dimensions, the APG News is required to compete against the larger (metro) format newspapers, as opposed to the smaller tabloids."Foss said the relative size of the papers is not as much of an issue as the quality. She called the Northwest Guardian and the Courier giants in the Army newspaper business and credited APG News reporters Yvonne Johnson and Rachel Ponder and graphic designer Nick Pentz with bringing home the win."The APG News staff is a small, but very dedicated group," she said. "It's nice to see them recognized at this level. This is a huge honor for all of us." The Army Materiel Command recently announced the winners of the 2012 AMC-level Keith L. Ware Affairs Awards Communication Competition. AMC judged 130 entries for technical excellence in accordance with the objectives of the Department of the Army's internal information program. Several APG-based organizations and individuals took top honors in the U.S. Army Materiel Command-level competition. Among them were:CECOM's Kelly Luster, Andricka Thomas, David Landmann; Jacqueline Boucher and Christine Reilly taking first place in the Magazine Category for CECOM Today.CECOM's Chrissie Reilly, Floyd Hertweck, Susan Thompson placed first for the 'U.S. Army CECOM Historical Office Blog' in the Command Blog Category.ACWA's Miguel Monteverde, Kristen Szydloski, Thomas Schultz, Stephanie Parrett, Katherine DeWeese winning second place in the Outstanding Initiatives in New Media category for Connect with ACWA Initiative.CECOM's homepage placed second in the Website category for cecom.army.mil. And a third place win in the News Feature category to Andricka Thomas for her article entitled, CECOM Deputy Retires after 37 Years.Those who placed first will go on to compete at the Department of Army level.For a full listing of HQAMC winners, visit http://1.usa.gov/xbDizF.