The jurisdictions of the National Capital Region have a new communications tool to communicate emergency information to residents of the NCR -- it's a Web portal, Through this online resource, residents can stay connected to local jurisdictional news (through a combined RSS feed of local news releases), localized weather from the National Weather Service, traffic and transit alerts, tips on how to prepare for emergencies and much more.

Capital Region Updates features day-to-day news from the jurisdictions of the National Capital Region. During a regional emergency or major weather event across the NCR, the site will feature incident updates and life-safety news and instructions. It will serve as an online "one stop shop" for information and guidance during major emergencies.

Residents that live or work in the National Capital Region are encouraged to bookmark for news and information updates.

The National Capital Region -- which is composed of 11 local jurisdictions, two states and the District of Columbia -- prepares for disasters collaboratively. These preparations involve the region's elected officials, emergency management, law enforcement, fire and public health personnel, along with the nonprofit and private sectors.

The NCR encompasses the District of Columbia and parts of Maryland and Virginia, including the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas and Manassas Park and the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, Prince William in Virginia and Montgomery and Prince George's in Maryland, which include the municipalities of Bowie, College Park, Gaithersburg, Greenbelt, Rockville and Takoma Park.