YONGSAN GARRISON, Republic of Korea - Eleven nominees from Garrison Yongsan were recognized for their endless support and dedication to the Community during the Volunteer of the Fourth Quarter Ceremony at the Army Community Services Building Oct. 28.

Garrison Commander Col. William Huber was on hand to celebrate each of the volunteers who selflessly give hundreds of hours to make a difference at Yongsan. He presented a certificate of appreciation and a coin to the honorees.

"To all of the volunteers who will be receiving awards and coins and those not being recognized here today, I want to express my sincerest gratitude and thanks for your service," Huber remarked. "You provide an enriched quality of life for our Yongsan community of over 21,000 Service members, Families, Civilians and Contractors."

Seoul American High School sophomore Danari White, the youngest honoree, said just being nominated for the recognition ceremony keeps her volunteering. She also took the opportunity to encourage others to volunteer.

"As a student representative for the Parent Teacher Student Organization, I get information and try to influence other students to join in and help volunteer at different events. It's fun to see the process that the school goes through for certain events."

Huber said what motivates volunteers may be as diverse as self-fulfillment, personal growth or to gain job experience ... but their selfless service to the Garrison is singularly valuable.

"No matter how big and powerful government gets and how many services it provides, it can never take the place of volunteers," said Huber.

The recipients and organizations were:

Maj. Katresha Bailey by the South Post Gospel Service Children's Church

Sonja Basman by Morale, Welfare and Recreation Child, Youth and School Services

Jonathan Han by the Relocation Readiness Program

Cathy Jarvis by FMWR Arts and Crafts

Claudette Mohn by the South Post Chapel Gospel Service and Tres Dias

Kendra Moore by the Exceptional Family Member Program, Army Community Service

Debbi Schaub by the American Forces Spouses Club

Danari White, by the SAHS PTO

Christina Wood by the American Forces Spouses Club

Jiwon Ye by the Relocation Readiness Program, ACS