REDSTONE ARSENAL, Ala. -- U.S. Army Materiel Command selected its 2011 Soldier and Noncommissioned Officer of the Year following a “Best Warrior” competition at Rock Island Arsenal,Ill., July 10-15.

Sgt. Douglas McBroom, 23, a cargo specialist from Corpus-Christi, Texas, assigned to 690th Rapid Port Opening Element, 597th Transportation Brigade, Joint Base Langley-Eustis, Va. was named NCO of the Year.

Spec. Bernard Quackenbush, 23, an avionics and survivability repair technician from Shelby Township, Mich., assigned to U.S. Army Research Laboratory, White Sands Missile Range, N.M., was selected as Soldier of the Year.

Soldiers and NCOs competed from U.S. Army Materiel Command units, including: U.S. Army Aviation and Missile Life Cycle Management Command; U.S. Army TACOM Life Cycle Management Command; Army Sustainment Command; Surface Deployment and Distribution Command; U.S. Army Research, Development and Engineering Command; U.S. Army Communication-Electronics Life Cycle Management Command; and the U.S. Army Contracting Command.

Candidates for the board competed in a Army physical fitness test; appeared before a selection board to answer questions about general military knowledge; partook in a written exam and essay question; qualified at an M4 range; competed at a reflexive fire range; participated in both day and night urban orienteering courses; competed in hand-on warrior tasks and battle drills, participated in a 6-mile road march; and participated in a situational training exercise.

McBroom and Quackenbush will represent AMC at an Army-wide “Best Warrior” competition Oct. 2-8 at Fort Lee, Va.