FORT BELVOIR, VA--A reclassification board has selected 27 Non-Commissioned Officers (NCOs) for Military Occupational Specialty (MOS) 51C reclassification. The board--consisting of members from the Defense Contract Management Agency, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and the U.S. Army Contracting Command--was convened by the U.S. Army Acquisition Support Center (USAASC) May 24-25.

MOS 51C classification is an acquisition, logistics, and technology designation for contracting NCOs. It was established in December 2006 to meet the Army’s continuously-increasing need for contingency contracting officers in the modular force. The primary mission for MOS 51C NCOs is to deploy as contingency contracting officers and serve as members of the early entry module contingency contracting team.

The NCOs selected for reclassification are as follows:

SSG Shannon Booker
SGT Philip A. Bouffard
SSG Thomas J. Brown
SFC Leon T. Butler
SGT Seung H. Choi
SGT Thomas L. Cochran
SSG Desmond Culler
SSG Samuel Curry
SGT Evelin H. Davis
SSG Elvon D. Dixon
SSG Luis Elisa
SGT Shalynn A. Evans
SSG Clyde Gardner
SSG Andrew Gross
SSG DeLeon Kelly
SSG Eric L. Kirkpatrick
SSG Mark C. Lewis
SSG Ivan T. Luckett
SGT Krishna K. Menon
SFC Soraya B. Merles
SGT Shawn D. Myers
SGT Robert O. Nicholson
SSG Bryan J. Tucker
SGT(P) Rachael L. Valdez
SSG Reginacheron B. Vazquez
SSG Lance N. Walker II
SSG Joseph L. Williams

Applicants for MOS 51C reclassification must be in the ranks of sergeant (eligible for promotion to staff sergeant), staff sergeant, or sergeant first class with less than 10 years of service. Those with more than 10 years, but less than 13 years’ service may receive waivers.

For more information about MOS 51C reclassification please see the April 7 Army STAND-TO article at or visit the USAASC website at