BAUMHOLDER,Germany - Baumholder volunteers saved the U.S. Army $394,070.64 in the last 12 months by volunteering more than 18,500 hours of service to the community. Lt. Col. Sam McAdoo, U.S. Army Garrison Baumholder commander, was presented with a symbolic check for the total amount of savings during the annual volunteer recognition ceremony May 19 at the Rheinlander Community Club.

“Our lives are touched by volunteers on a daily basis. They are touched by the Soldier volunteers who teach our children to ski and spouses who mentor the youth in religious education classrooms, by the garrison Baumholder school volunteers in our classrooms, the Red Cross volunteers who comfort us at blood drives, the family support volunteers who support the wounded Soldier unit and all those who make USAG Baumholder a better place to live, work and thrive,” said McAdoo.

Volunteers of the year were recognized in six categories: youth, military family, service member, military spouse, civilian and family.

The recognition ceremony theme this year was the Oscars. “This theme was chosen because it emphasizes the importance and value of every individual who willingly contributes his or her time, energy and skills to our community throughout the year,” said Ciara Luna, Baumholder Volunteer Corps coordinator.

Winner of the youth category was Sydney Giefer. Also nominated for the youth award was Xena Miller. The award was presented by Danny Robinson and Linda Wojcik.

The military spouse volunteer of the year was Lacie Anderson. Other nominations for volunteer military spouse of the year were Heather Schroeder, Magdalena Ayala, Barbara Cromartie, Byron Warner, Michelle Mims, Zachary Simmons and Yelda Bryant. Jacqy Matlock presented the award.

The service member volunteer of the year award went to Staff Sgt. Donald Kimzey. Also nominated for the award was Capt. Jason King. McAdoo and Lt. Col. Steven Fandrich, 170th Infantry Brigade Combat Team Rear Detachment commander, made the presentation.

Marie Moran was named civilian volunteer of the year. Also nominated was Latorry Herring. Presenting the awards were Jolene Eichburg and Jennifer Oeschger.

The military family of the year award went to Jonathan and Faye Fox. Aaron and Cara Jones were also nominated for the award. Dan Furlano, Army Community Service director, made the presentation. “The best thing about volunteers is that you’re a force multiplier. Everywhere you go, you make the organization and the activity better,” said Furlano.

Sarika King was the recipient of the 170th Infantry Brigade Combat Team volunteer of the year award. Other nominees for the award were Betsey Mercado, Danica Darden, Natira McGee, Melinda Waller and Sarah Chapman. The award was presented by Fandrich. “This brigade and the community really couldn’t function without its volunteers, whether it’s from FRG leaders, or those spouses volunteering for the care-and-go teams. But what makes it even more special this year is our spouses are not only volunteering but they’re also single parents. They’re serving in a role as both mother and father. It’s truly amazing,” said Fandrich before making the presentation.”

McAdoo pointed out how special and important volunteering is, not only in Baumholder but Army wide.

“The amazing participation by the entire community in volunteer activities is something that makes us special across our Army. With our busy daily schedules, finding the time to volunteer is a selfless act of patriotism that clearly exemplifies the Army values of selfless service. So many of the local agencies could not exist without volunteers. Volunteering is not just nice, it’s necessary,” said McAdoo.