YONGSAN GARRISON, South Korea - An induction ceremony for the Sgt. Audie L. Murphy Club and Gen. Paik Sun-yup Leadership Award was held here April 27 to honor exemplary U.S. Army noncommissioned officers and Korean Augmentees to the U.S. Army.

The awardees and guests assembled at the Multipurpose Training Facility to participate in the ceremony.

Eighth Army Commanding General Lt. Gen. John D. Johnson and Command Sgt. Maj. Robert A. Winzeried, command sergeant major for United Nations Command, Combined Forces Command, U.S. Forces Korea and Eighth Army, honored the awardees.

The "I am the sergeant" video was shown followed by the video biographies for Sgt. Audie L. Murphy and Gen. Paik Sun-yup.

The guest speaker was Command Sgt. Maj. John C. Justis, command sergeant major for the U.S. Army Garrison-Yongsan.

"We all know these young leaders are the best of what we have in our organizations," said Justis. "There is much more to this than just boards. It starts with a foundation of strong Army values."

Justin also mentioned, "These leaders are developed over the years and hone their skills in every way. They are the ones that are mentoring the future of our Army which they will lead when guys like me are gone."

Murphy was a war hero during World War II and earned a battlefield commission and many medals, including the Medal of Honor. He was also a movie actor and writer of country and western songs. He acted in many films and wrote lyrics to 16 country and western songs.

Gen. Paik Sun-yup is the first South Korean to achieve four-star general rank during the Korean War. He was decorated with many awards including the Taeguk medal (Korea's highest award), silver star, and legion of merit.

Sergeant Audie L. Murphy Club Inductees

Staff Sgt. Frank Borba, A Battery, 6th Battalion, 37th Field Artillery
Sgt. 1st Class Jeffrey M. Ciancaglini, 1st Battalion, 15th Field Artillery
Staff Sgt. Thaj A. Davis, D Company, 2nd Battalion, 9th Infantry
Sgt. 1st Class Samuel D. Downing, D Company, Division Special Troops Battalion
Staff Sgt. Jonathan D. Eppes, B Battery, 1st Battalion, 38th Field Artillery
Staff Sgt. Dana M. McCall, HHC, 501st Special Troops Battalion
Sgt. Jason Olceski, 302nd Brigade Support Battalion
Sgt. Arthur J. Pruitt, 2nd Combat Aviation Brigade

Gen. Paik Sun-yup Leadership Award Inductees

Cpl. Bahg Gi-won, HHC, USAG Daegu
Cpl. Hwang Yung-gyu, HHD, 25th Transportation Battalion
Cpl. Kim Dong-young, 4-7th Cavalry
Cpl. Kim Kyoung-joon, C Company, 6th Battalion, 37th Field Artillery
Sgt. Kim Sang-yup, 4-7th Cavalry
Cpl. Kim Tae-wan, HHC, USAG Daegu
Cpl. Lee Jong-hwan, B Company, 4-7th Cavalry
Cpl. Lee Sung-hak, A Company, Division Special Troops Battalion
Cpl. Park Se-hoon, 348th Quarter Master Company, 194th Combat Sustainment Support Battalion
Cpl. Ryu Ho-sun, HHC, 19th Expeditionary Sustainment Command
Cpl. Woo Sang-young, HHC, USAG Daegu