YONGSAN GARRISON, South Korea - Eighth Army announced its nominees for the 2010 U.S. Army-level General Douglas MacArthur Leadership Award Competition here Dec. 10.

Capt. James B. Pacheco of 188th Military Police Company and Chief Warrant Officer 2 Jean D. Ritter of Headquarters and Headquarters Company, 498th Combat Sustainment Support Battalion, were selected as the 8th Army representatives.

"I am happy to share this experience with the leaders who provided me mentorship and opportunity and the 188th MP Company warfighters who have consistently demonstrated excellence throughout my command," said Pacheco.

The award was established by the General Douglas MacArthur Foundation and the U.S. Army to recognize leaders who demonstrate the ideals that MacArthur represented: duty, honor and country.

Eighth Army is allocated one commissioned officer and one warrant officer nomination for this year's Department of the Army-level competition.

"Winning the Eighth Army General MacArthur Leadership Board motivates me to continue to improve my leadership skills and gives me the continued confidence to mentor young Soldiers to do the same," said Ritter.

Eighth Army Deputy Commanding General Maj. Gen. Robert Williamson recognized the nominees and congratulated the Eighth Army-level winners.