YONGSAN GARRISON, South Korea - An induction ceremony for the Sgt. Audie L. Murphy Club and Gen. Paik Sun-yup Leadership Award was held here Nov. 24 to recognize exemplary U.S. Army Noncommissioned Officers and Korean Augmentees to the U.S. Army.

The awardees and guests gathered at the Multipurpose Training Facility for the induction ceremony after a luncheon at Yongsan Main Post Club.

Eighth Army Commanding General Lt. Gen. John D. Johnson and Command Sgt. Maj. Robert, A. Winzeried, command sergeant major of United Nations Command, Combined Forces Command, U.S. Forces Korea and 8th Army, honored the awardees.

After the presentation of "I am the Sergeant" by the SAMC awardees, the video of biographies of Sgt. Audie L. Murphy and Gen. Paik Sun-yup were shown.

Sgt. Maj. Tabitha Gavia, sergeant major of 65th Medical Brigade Operations, who also is a member of SAMC, was the guest speaker.

"You are NCOs that never say no, that are never too busy to help others," said Gavia. "You are NCOs hat lead from the front, execute flawlessly and demand the same from your seniors, peers and subordinates."

Murphy was a war hero who earned battlefield commission and many medals during World War II, including the Medal of Honor. SAMC inductees are U.S. Army NCOs who lead from the front.

Paik is the first ROK Army officer to be promoted to four-star general. He participated in all ten of the major Korean War campaigns. The Gen. Paik Sun-yup Leadership Award is given to KATUSA NCOs.

Sergeant Audie, L. Murphy Club Inductees
Sgt. 1st Class Victor Milam, C Battery, 2nd Battalion, 1st Armored Divison
Sgt. 1st Class Justin Mitchell, D Company, 4th Battalion, 2nd Aviation Regiment
Sgt. 1st Class Miriam Prince, 557th Military Police Company
Staff Sgt. Christopher Manookin, B Battery, 6th Battalion, 37th Field Artillery
Staff Sgt. Joseph McCants, 8th Army Wightman NCO Academy
Staff Sgt. Hector Pena, HHD, 168th Multi-Functional Medical Battalion
Staff Sgt. Laura Pena, HHD, 25th Transportation Battalion
Staff Sgt. Sean Swint, B Battery, 1st Battalion, 38th Field Artillery
Sgt. Timothy Hughes, A Company, Division Special Troops Battalion
Sgt. Angelica Jarmula, HHC, 501st Special Troops Battalion
Sgt. John Weaver, HSC, 602nd Aviation Support Battalion

General Paik, Sun-yup Leadership Award Inductees
Sgt. Choi Bong-su, 176th Financial Management Company
Sgt. Lee Jun-ho, HHC, 19th Expeditionary Sustainment Command
Sgt. Noh Hyun-seung, 95th Blood Support Detachment
Sgt. Sim Jong-hoen, 560th Medical Police Company
Cpl. Hong Cheol-hee, 142nd Medical Police Company
Cpl. Heo Jae-seok, HHC, 501st Special Troops Battalion
Cpl. Kim Dong-hyuk, 14th Military Police Company
Cpl. Lee Jin-woo, 563rd Medical Logistics Company
Cpl. Min Sung-eun, HHC, 19th Expeditionary Sustainment Command