FORT RUCKER, Ala. -- Fort Rucker officials honored seven post instructors at the U.S. Army Aviation Museum Sept. 29 during the Instructor of the Quarter ceremony.

Each quarter, academic instructors, instructor pilots and noncommissioned officer flight instructors from around the installation are nominated by their supervisors to compete for instructor of the quarter, according to Henry Spohrer, Directorate of Training and Doctrine, Education and Technologies Branch instructor programs manager.

They are evaluated on quality of instruction, quality of materials developed and used and quality of their presentation. After all evaluations are completed, scores are compiled and winners of the quarterly competitions are selected.

The Instructor of the Quarter honorees are officer, Maj. David Broussard, U.S. Army School of Aviation Medicine; warrant officer, CW4 Paul Sivacek, D Company, 1st Battalion, 145th Aviation Regiment; officer instructor pilot, CW3 William Britt, A Co., 1st Bn., 14th Avn. Regt.; noncommissioned officer academic Staff Sgt. Aramat Jackson, NCO Academy; NCO flight, Staff Sgt. Anthony Billings, F Co., 1st Bn., 212th Avn. Regt.; civilian instructor pilot, Christopher Lusker, C Co., 1st Bn., 14th Avn. Regt.; and civilian academic instructor, James Calhoun, C Co., 1st Bn., 13th Avn. Regt.

Event guest speaker, Col. Jimmy Meacham, DOTD director, presented each instructor with a certificate of achievement from the U.S. Army Aviation Center of Excellence.

"These individuals are the best of the best," he said. "We all have ideas about what we do here and how we do it. Every position in the Army is important and all we can do is the best we can at whatever assignment we're given and you all have proven that's your goal."

Col. (P) Timothy Edens, USAACE deputy commanding general, said the results of the instructors' teaching efforts were clear in the Soldiers they taught.

"If not for these instructors, we wouldn't have the high level of Soldiers here," he said. "They truly have done a great job and deserve the recognition for that."