HUNTSVILLE, Ala.--The 13th Annual Space and Missile Defense Conference and Exhibition, featuring military organizations and defense contractors from across the country, descended on the city earlier this month to showcase the latest and greatest in space and missile defense.

Nearly 7,000 people attended the conference Aug. 16-19 at the Von Braun Center in Huntsville, Ala. The theme for this year's event was Enabling Regional Warfighters, and it had a significant international emphasis.

The U.S. Army Space and Missile Defense Command/Army Forces Strategic Command was represented with three exhibits, and its commanding general, Lt. Gen. Kevin T. Campbell, spoke during the event.

On Tuesday, Campbell presented the 2010 USASMDC/ARSTRAT Noncommissioned Officer and Soldier of the Year to the attendees during the opening ceremony. Staff Sgt. James Harris, D Detachment, 1st Space Company, Misawa Air Base, Japan, represented the Pacific Region and was named the command's NCO of the Year, and Spc. Matthew McLeod, D Company, 53rd Signal Battalion, Camp Roberts, Calif., represented the Western Region and was named the command's Soldier of the Year.

In addition, five Soldiers were inducted by Campbell and Command Sgt. Maj. Larry Turner into the prestigious NCO organization, the Sgt. Audie Murphy Club, which honors the service of Sgt. Audie Murphy, a highly decorated World War II Soldier. Inducted were: Sgt. 1st Class Kelly Hart, B Detachment, 1st Space Co., 1st Space Bn.; Sgt. 1st Class Charles Ahlborn, C Co., 53rd Signal Bn.; Sgt. 1st Class Joseph Collins, Headquarters and Headquarters Co., 1st Space Brigade; Staff Sgt. Guy Jackson, C Co., 53rd Signal Bn.; and Harris, the NCO of the Year.

Other guest speakers at the conference included the Honorable Malcolm R. O'Neill, assistant secretary to the Army, Acquisition, Logistics, and Technology; Gen. C. Robert Kehler, commander, Air Force Space Command; Lt. Gen. Patrick O'Reilly, director, Missile Defense Agency; Lt. Gen. John D. Gardner, deputy commander, U.S. European Command; Lt. Gen. (Ret.) Harry Raduege, chairman for the Deloitte Center for Cyber Innovations (and former director of the Defense Information Systems Agency); and Maj. Gen. Abraham Turner, chief of staff, U.S. Strategic Command.