Presidio of Monterey, Calif. -- Employees of the Presidio of Monterey Garrison, who in recent months had been singled out for official honors and recognition, assembled for the garrison's regularly scheduled awards ceremony at Ord Military Community's General Stilwell Community Center Jan. 22.

On hand to congratulate award recipients were Col. Darcy A. Brewer, Presidio of Monterey Garrison commander; Pamela M. von Ness, deputy to the garrison commander; and Command Sgt. Major Olga B. Martinez, garrison command sergeant major.

Five new garrison employees were introduced at the outset of the event, and awardees were then called onstage, grouped according to the directorates in which they are employed.

New garrison employees: Rashad Gibson and Martin King of the Directorate of Human Resources, Derrick Lee and Lorrie Madison of the Directorate of Public Works and Carol Hopkins of the Equal Employment Opportunity Office.

Directorate of Emergency Services: Timothy Johnson was recognized for his expertise in conducting prescribed burns to clear tracts of land at the former Fort Ord.

Directorate of Family and Morale, Welfare, and Recreation: Tim Clouse was awarded a Department of the Army Certificate of Appreciation and Junior Finona was presented a Letter of Appreciation from the Installation Management Command West Regional Director.

Directorate of Human Resources: Liz Clark was awarded a Department of the Army Commendation Certificate.

Directorate of Plans, Training, Mobilization and Security: Amanda Bryfogle and Angelica Seivwright were each awarded the Achievement Medal for Civilian Service.

Directorate of Public Works: Donald Letson, Ruben Solis-Acosta, Barbara Schmitt, Richard Schmitt, James Symanski Jr. and Eric Vollmer were each awarded a Garrison Certificate of Appreciation.

Equal Employment Opportunity Office: Dr. Reem A. Dababneh of the Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center was awarded a Department of the Army Certificate of Achievement.

Installation Legal Office: Lannette Moutos received the Commander's Award for Civilian Service; David Riddle was awarded an Achievement Medal for Civilian Service; and Vellis Weathers was awarded a Department of the Army Certificate of Achievement. On behalf of the Legal Assistance Office staff, Riddle accepted a Chief of Staff Award for Excellence in Legal Assistance, 2008.

Plans, Analysis and Integration Office: Dan Dieli, Amber Hill, Tony Trujillo and Steve Young were each awarded a Department of the Army Certificate of Appreciation. Barbara Fletcher, Teresita Gonzalez, Amber Hill, Joyce Jackson, Christina Lauofo and Tom Sickles, were each awarded a Department of the Army Certificate of Achievement. Joe de Katona and Angelica Seivwright were awarded U.S. Army Lean Six Sigma certifications.

Recognized for their contributions to the Lean Six Sigma Project for Refuse Disposal were Joe de Katona, Bill Genova, Amber Hill, Travis Reid, Lee Ryan, Ricardo Saldana, Philip Sanders, Ruben Solis-Acosta, Thomas Tuttle and Jim Willison.