USAG Bavaria recognizes 2024 Military Academic Achievement Award recipients

By Milena Felkl, Josh Zuckero, USAG Bavaria PAO interns and Natalie SimmelJuly 2, 2024

USAG Bavaria recognizes 2024 Military Academic Achievement Award recipients
(Photo Credit: U.S. Army) VIEW ORIGINAL

TOWER BARRACKS, Germany — The U.S. Army Garrison Bavaria Education Center team held a Military Academic Achievement Awards ceremony June 27, 2024 at the Tower View Conference Center to recognize high-achieving students.

The USAG Bavaria commander, Col. Kevin A. Poole, served as the event’s keynote speaker and welcomed the awardees, their Family members and friends.

“This is an honor to serve as the keynote speaker for this ceremony which recognizes the academic excellence,” Poole said. “Not only the academic excellence, but excellence in community service, excellence in profession and just excellence in being a good human being for this community.”

The ceremony honored 36 students for their outstanding academic performance and success in addition to the demands of their military life.

“In the military, we are accustomed to facing challenges head-on, embracing adversity, and overcoming obstacles,” Poole said. “Yet, the pursuit of academic excellence while fulfilling our duties is a unique and commendable endeavor. It embodies immense discipline, dedication, and a passionate quest for knowledge, even amidst the challenges of military life.”

“I have a busy schedule, so I spent a lot of time in the field or undergoing training,” said Sgt. Randolph Jones, reward recipient. “There have been several occasions when I was up at four in the morning after training, doing homework or working on assignments, shivering in the cold, trying to complete everything on time. These are some of the hardships I faced while pursuing my dream.”

In his remarks, Col. Poole encouraged the students to continue looking forward as they transition to the next phase of their careers, emphasizing that their educational journey is ongoing.

“You all have done outstanding work, but it doesn’t stop here,” he said. “It only continues even after you achieve. Education is a continuous, lifelong process and you will educate yourself through your interactions with other human beings, through your ability to lead other human beings, as well as any other interaction with family members, friends, and so forth.”

The Soldiers, Family members, and civilians attended various universities and offered advice for the next generation of learners.

Tyler Webb, enrolled at the University of Maryland, received an associate degree in general studies while also pursuing a bachelor's degree in psychology with a minor in criminal justice.

“Of course, honestly, as much as people say it, sometimes you just have to want it,” he said. “Naturally, we all want it. But often, the hardest thing is overcoming a lack of motivation, right? I believe that once you start to see your goals as achievable, all you need to do is get up and take action.”

Sgt. Brianna Ramirez obtained an associate degree in general studies. She too obtained it through the University of Maryland.

She advises others, "...don’t give up.”

“If you begin to fall behind or encounter difficulties, be open and honest with your command and professors,” she said. “Often, they are willing to work with you to help you continue pursuing your goal."

For pictures of the graduation, visit


Here is the list of the recognized individuals:


Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Awardees

  • Staff Sgt. Jacqueline Butler
  • Sgt. Edgar Ombasa
  • Thomas Sanderlin


University of Maryland Global Campus Europe Awardees

  • Spc. Timileyin Adeleye
  • Bethany Aull
  • Spc. Jackson Cox
  • Staff Sgt. Douglas Goodnight
  • Fabricio Jimenez
  • Sgt. Justin Jones
  • Staff Sgt. Mclean, Prince
  • Madison Muhlenbeck
  • Sgt. Brianna Ramirez
  • Mariana Rendo
  • Sgt. Christina Richardson, Christina
  • Sgt. Michael Jett Saligumba
  • Spc. Isaac Tettey
  • Kelsey Watson
  • Pfc. Tyler Webb
  • Staff Sgt. Perry Whitledge
  • 1st Lt. Charles Yoo
  • Sgt. Kolubah Zayzay


Community Awardees

  • Sgt. Dwayne Andrew
  • Sgt. 1st Class Shawn Brown
  • Sgt. Margery Comeger
  • Sgt. Moubarak Djessibo
  • Sgt. Daron Fisher
  • LeighAnn Foster
  • Sgt. 1st Class Jake Goodin
  • Sgt. 1st Class Margarita Hurtado
  • Spc. Janay Kemp
  • Staff Sgt. Zana Ouattara
  • Alexis Richardson
  • Sgt. Demietrius Robinson
  • Sgt. 1st Class Louis Sandoval
  • Staff Sgt. Patrick Walker
  • Sgt. 1st Class Malcom Watson
  • Chelsey Worman de Castro