Best warrior competition kicks off at APG

By Maya GreenMay 14, 2024

Soldiers pose in uniform in front of flags on a stage
Participants in the U.S. Army Communications-Electronics Command’s 2024 Best Warrior Competition at Aberdeen Proving Ground. (Photo Credit: Maya Green, CECOM PAO) VIEW ORIGINAL

ABERDEEN PROVING GROUND, Md. — The U.S. Army Communications-Electronics Command hosted the 2024 Best Warrior Competition at APG. The award ceremony was hosted both online via Microsoft Teams and in-person in the Myer Auditorium May 10, 2024.

BWC is an annual event conducted by the U.S. Army Major Commands to select the Noncommissioned Officer of the Year and Soldier of the Year, and to provide competitors for the Army-level competition. Tenant organizations select the most competent and best qualified NCOs and Soldiers to compete at the APG BWC. This event is designed to promote "esprit de corps" throughout APG and recognize NCOs and Soldiers who demonstrate commitment to the Army values and embody the warrior ethos. Participating NCOs and Soldiers were graded in the following areas: physical fitness assessment, obstacle course, weapons lanes, land navigation, tactical road march, Wide Angle Virtual Environment, engagement skill trainer II, and administrative board.

Winners of the BWC

Winners of the APG and CECOM BWC received the Army Commendation Medal and tokens of appreciation from APG and local leaders.

The APG NCO Best Warrior winner is Staff Sgt. Christopher Miller, U.S. Army Combat Capabilities Development Command.

The APG Soldier Best Warrior winner is Spc. Nikolas Henderson, U.S. Army Medical Research Institute of Chemical Defense.

The CECOM NCO Best Warrior winner is Sgt. Jason Paglia, United States Army Medical Materiel Agency.

To watch the award ceremony, please visit:

To see photos from the award ceremony, please visit our Flickr: