DOD Announces Liz Blanc SARC, VA and Promoting Excellence in Prevention Award Winners

By Antwaun ParrishMay 11, 2023

(Photo Credit: U.S. Army) VIEW ORIGINAL

The Department of Defense Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Office, or SAPRO, annually recognizes individuals (military or civilian) from each military service and their respective reserve component for their excellence in preventing or responding to sexual assault. SAPRO is responsible for oversight of the Department's sexual assault policy.

The awards program recognizes individuals whose work has been particularly noteworthy and demonstrates outstanding service in support of service members. The awards include the Liz Blanc Exceptional SARC of the Year, Liz Blanc SAPR VA of the Year, and the Promoting Excellence in Prevention Award.

The Army recipient for the Liz Blanc Exceptional SARC of the Sgt. 1st Class Philena Perdue. Perdue is assigned to the 1st Aviation Brigade, her citation states that she created an environment where individuals feel comfortable about discussing SHARP, where survivors feel supported and comfortable to report, and where leaders are continuously engaged.

The Army recipient for the Liz Blanc Exceptional SAPR VA of the Year is Staff Sgt. Erika Feliciano. Feliciano is assigned to Brooke Army Medical Center. Her citation states that her tireless efforts to advocate for all victims of sexual assault and complainants of sexual harassment have built trust in the SHARP program and greatly improved command climate and ensured enduring unit readiness.

Multiple Army personnel were awarded the Promoting Excellence in Prevention Award. The awardees are Elizabeth Campbell, USAG Italy; Jessica Green, USAG Stuttgart; Elsa Jansen, 173rd Airborne Brigade; Christine Paul, USACE Kansas City District; Sgt. 1st Class Sara Diehl, 207th Military Intelligence Brigade; and Staff Sgt. Marcus Palmeri USAG Wright-Patterson AFB.

“We are proud of the work our Sexual Assault Response Coordinators and Victim Advocates do on a daily basis,” said Jill Londagin, Army SHARP director. “Their work is essential to ensuring the safety of all personnel and, while they are primarily a response capability, they engage their units and communities in prevention efforts to ensure that all are treated with dignity and respect.”

SAPRO honored recipients during a ceremony at the Pentagon on May 11.