(Photo Credit: U.S. Army) VIEW ORIGINAL

FORT LEONARD WOOD, Mo. — Maneuver Support Center of Excellence leaders announced the 2021 instructors of the year and the 2022 civilians of the year during a ceremony May 26 in Lincoln Hall Auditorium.

Maj. Gen. James Bonner, MSCoE and Fort Leonard Wood commanding general, thanked the award winners, their families and everyone who made the ceremony possible.

“At Fort Leonard Wood, we develop leaders, and we drive change,” he said. “Between our schools, brigades and our inter-service partners, we train over 76,000 service members and civilians annually. We conduct over 200 courses across multiple disciplines to instill values, skill, character and competence.”

The only way to accomplish this mission, Bonner said, is through “the care and the leadership of our instructors and civilian employees.”

“Our instructors of the year have distinguished themselves above their peers,” he said. “They set the example within their organizations by serving as subject matter experts within their fields and using their knowledge and experience to shape the future leaders of our Army.”

Bonner called Army civilians essential to the MSCoE “team of teams.”

“They keep the mission running by managing the training that occurs on post, developing and integrating capabilities and caring for the Fort Leonard Wood team,” he said. “The unwavering commitment of our civilians immensely contributes to the mission success.”

Military instructors of the year were presented the Army Commendation Medal and civilian instructors of the year received the Commander’s Award for Civilian Service.

The 2021 awardees included:

In the officer category:

  • Capt. Lawrence Lincoln, U.S. Army Engineer School
  • Capt. Jonathan Bradshaw, U.S. Military Police School
  • Capt. Douglas Hamberger, U.S. Army Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear School

In the warrant officer category:

  • Chief Warrant Officer 3 Gerardo Figueroa, USAES
  • Chief Warrant Officer 3 Jennifer Nims, USAMPS

In the NCO category:

  • Staff Sgt. Thom Vendl, MSCoE
  • Sgt. 1st Class Oscar Galdamez, USAES
  • Air Force Tech. Sgt. David Infante, USAMPS
  • Sgt. 1st Class Cristopher Garcia, USACBRNS

In the civilian category:

  • Jonathan Patton, USAES
  • Jonathan Zoerhof, USAMPS
  • Brandon Wagner, USACBRNS.

The civilians of the year received awards in four categories aligned with the MSCoE Enduring Priorities — each with three levels of award. The winners received a desktop award to display in their workspace.

In the Develop Warrior Leaders category:

  • Foundational: Jamie Smith, 31st Engineer Battalion
  • Advanced: Lisa Jarrett, MSCoE
  • Strategic: Lynn Richardson, USAMPS

In the Readiness, Train and Prepare category:

  • Foundational: Thomas Santos, 35th Engineer Battalion
  • Advanced: John Miller, Homeland Defense and Civil Support Office
  • Strategic: John Rose, MSCoE

In the Improving Force Capabilities category:

  • Foundational: Edwin Lavant, 3rd Chemical Brigade
  • Advanced: Steven Lincoln, 169th Engineer Battalion
  • Strategic: Larry Lazo, USACBRNS

In the Caring for the MSCoE Team category:

  • Foundational: Timothy Ruck, USAMPS
  • Advanced: Timothy Davis, 3rd Chemical Brigade
  • Strategic: Scott Langley, USAMPS.

A video of the entire ceremony is available to view on the Fort Leonard Wood Facebook page.