NORWALK, Ohio (June 25, 2009) -- For the third straight year, U.S. Army Top Fuel driver Tony "The Sarge" Schumacher, has been nominated for the ESPY Best Driver Award.

The ESPY Awards, which are distributed for excellence in sports performance yearly, were created by ESPN in 1993. Beginning today through July 11 at 11:59 p.m., fans can vote for Schumacher online at

The ESPYs will be hosted by Samuel L. Jackson on July 15 at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles, Calif. The awards show will be televised by ESPN on July 19, at 9 p.m. ET.

"It's an incredible feeling to be recognized by the ESPY folks for the third consecutive year," said Schumacher, a six-time world champion. "I'm hopeful we can finally present this award to our Army Strong Soldiers. It's their dedication, teamwork and passion that inspires the U.S. Army Top Fuel team to be successful."

Joining the Chicago-area resident on the ESPY Best Driver ballot is NASCAR driver Jimmie Johnson and Formula 1 driver Lewis Hamilton, as well as IRL pilots Helio Castroneves and Scott Dixon.

"That's a bunch of talented drivers," added Schumacher. "As in years past, I'm honored to be included in such an elite group."

No drag racer has ever won the ESPY Best Driver Award. In addition to Schumacher, other NHRA drivers to be nominated over the years included John Force, Tony edregon, Greg Anderson and Melanie Troxel.

"Maybe, the third time will be the charm for me," said Schumacher.

Having won five consecutive world titles, Schumacher presently holds second-place in the Top Fuel standings as the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series hits the halfway point of the 2009 season this weekend at Summit Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio.