Maj. David J. Tennent, a fellow at the John A. Feagin Jr. Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Fellowship at West Point, was selected, on April 2, 2019, to receive the 2019 Cdr. Michael T. Mazurek Clinician Scholar Award.This award, which is presented by the Society of Military Orthopaedic Surgeons (SOMOS), recognizes the individual who best exemplifies Cdr. Mazurek's commitment to excellence in military orthopaedic education and research."Maj. Tennent's commitment to clinical research is evident through the outstanding work he has completed throughout his career and we look forward to his continued leadership in orthopaedic research and education," said Cdr. Lance LeClere, MD, First Vice President, SOMOS."Maj. Tennent has shown his acumen for research throughout his residency and has continued this commitment during his Fellowship year as noted by his 34 peer reviewed research publications, 49 research presentations, multiple book chapters, and numerous research awards," said Lt. Col. Matthew Posner, MD, Director of the John A. Feagin Jr. Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Fellowship at West Point."The training and educational opportunities provided by the Cdr. Mazurek award, through the Clinician Scholar Career Development program, will serve to further enhance his abilities as a clinician, researcher, and educator. Maj. Tennent embodies the purpose of this award through his intense commitment to military orthopaedic education and research," added Posner.Tennent is the fourth John A. Feagin Jr. Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Fellow to receive the Mazurek award in its 8-year existence.As the award recipient, Tennent will participate in the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons/Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation/Orthopaedic Research Society's Clinician Scholar Development Program (CSDP) in September. Additionally, he will attend the SOMOS 61st Annual Meeting in December where he will receive the award and make a presentation about CSDP, describe how he benefited from the training, current educational and research projects, and how he will utilize the training in their future endeavors.The other John A. Feagin Jr. Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Fellow recipients of this award are: Maj. Travis C. Burns, MD (2012); Maj. Jonathan F. Dickens, MD (2013); and Maj. Jeanne C. Patzkowski, MD (2015).- ### -About Cdr. Michael T. Mazurek: An outstanding orthopaedic educator and clinician scholar, Mazurek was twice awarded the David J. Czertak Memorial Teaching Award, was the recipient of several large research grants and authored many articles, ranging from basic to clinical science. Also a decorated combat surgeon, he deployed with the Marines to Fallujah, Iraq in 2004, and was recognized for his selfless actions that often occurred under fire. His distinguished service at the Naval Medical Center, San Diego, culminated in his selection as Orthopaedic Residency Program Director. Mazurek passed away on November 7, 2009, following a bicycle accident. In his time of service to America, he embodied the mission of SOMOS and improved warrior care through research and education.