Maj. Gen. Kent Savre, Maneuver Support Center of Excellence and Fort Leonard Wood commanding general, and Command Sgt. Maj. Trevor Walker, U.S. Army Engineer School, presented awards to 13 of Fort Leonard Wood's best instructors Friday in Lincoln Hall Auditorium.

Having just learned of Fort Leonard Wood Soldiers winning both Soldier of the Year and NCO of the Year in the U.S. Army Training and Doctrine Command's Best Warrior Competition, Savre said the installation's instructors play a big part in the post's continued success in Army competitions.

"Last year's NCO of the Year (for the Army was from) Fort Leonard Wood. The Drill Sergeant of the Year for the last four years straight, for the Army, was also from Fort Leonard Wood," he said. "All of those people I just talked about were trained by instructors here at Fort Leonard Wood, that's what a big deal this is."

Savre added that the 13 instructors receiving awards are the best of the best and spend hundreds of hours in the classroom, preparing lesson plans and correcting assignments, yet they still find time to work with struggling students.

"Our instructors, here at Fort Leonard Wood, positively impact thousands of service members and civilians in so many different ways professionally and personally," Savre said. "Class after class, it may become difficult for our instructors to remember the name of each and every one of their students; however, you can be sure the students will remember our instructors and will forever be thankful for their leadership."

All military awardees received the Army Commendation Medal for Meritorious Achievement and civilians received the Commander's Award for Civilian Service for Meritorious Achievement.

United States Army Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear School awardees are as follows:
-- Capt. Blas Martinez
-- Chief Warrant Officer 3 Christopher Dawson
-- Staff Sgt. James Sheppard
-- James Benton

United States Army Engineer School awardees are as follows:
-- Capt. Christopher Hassel
-- Chief Warrant Officer 3 Matthew Goble
-- Staff Sgt. Robert Velasquez
-- Edgar Rodriguez

United States Army Military Police School awardees are as follows:
-- Capt. Danelle Gamble
-- Chief Warrant Officer 3 Kelly Jameson
-- Staff Sgt. Orlando Romero
-- James Scott

MSCoE Non-Proponent group awardee is:
-- Marine Staff Sgt. James Cassidy

Benton was recently selected as the first-place winner in the U.S. Army Training and Doctrine Command's Civilian Instructor of the Year category, and Sheppard placed third in TRADOC's Instructor of the Year Noncommissioned Officer category.