FORT SHAFTER, Hawaii (April 15, 2009) - The U.S. Army-Hawaii Sergeant Audie Murphy Club hosted its quarterly induction ceremony, April 15 at the Hale Ikena here, and also recognized two Dr. Mary E. Walker award recipients.

Four new members were inducted into SAMC, which recognizes exemplary performance by noncommissioned officers (NCOs) throughout the Army. Since SAMC\'s inception in 1986, the club has continuously added distinguished leaders to its ranks, while still honoring Sgt. Audie Murphy, the most decorated Soldier in the history of the U.S. Army.

"I would definitely say that all NCOs and future NCOs should strive to be in the SAMC," said Command Sgt. Maj. George Duncan, command sergeant major of the 8th Theater Sustainment Command. "These Soldiers are the best of the best."

"As a private first class, members of the SAMC in my unit showed us the way," said Sgt. Timothy Hennessey, with the 732nd Military Intelligence Battalion, 500th MI Brigade. "It isn't just a club, it's a way of life and higher standard that NCOs have to hold themselves to. I've always tried to strive my hardest and that is what the SAMC is all about, being the best NCO you can be and taking care of your Soldiers."

The award and organization are named for Audie Leon Murphy, a successful Soldier, actor, writer, and entrepreneur, who is also known as the greatest combat Soldier in U.S. history. During the course of Murphy's three-year tour of duty in Europe, during World War II, he was awarded every decoration for valor the United States issues, as well as three from France and one from Belgium.

"It's been a long road," Hennessey said. "It's great and it is a big relief to finally reach this goal."

During the induction ceremony, the Dr. Mary E. Walker award was also presented to Mrs. Emiliean Kemper and Cathbin Kondo of the 732nd MI Bn., 500th MI Bde. for their exemplary service and volunteerism in support of Soldiers and their families. The Walker award's namesake is the only woman ever to be awarded the Medal of Honor for her dauntless courage and unwavering service during the Civil War.

New inductees: Sgt. Timothy Hennessey 732nd MI Bn, 500th MI Bde., Staff Sgt. Bryan Haldeman 7th Eng. Det. (Dive), Staff Sgt. Jeremy Tomlin 7th Eng. Det. (Dive), Staff Sgt. Joshua Adams 732nd MI Bn, 500th MI Bde.