ARLINGTON, Va. - The U.S. Army Warrior Care and Transition has selected 40 wounded, ill and injured Soldiers and veterans who will represent Team Army at the 2018 Department of Defense Warrior Games June 2-9 in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

These men and women will compete against teams from the Marines, Navy, Air Force, and Special Operations Command in 10 sports: power lifting, rowing, archery, cycling, track, field, shooting, swimming, sitting volleyball, and wheelchair basketball.

Col. Matthew St Laurent, Deputy Chief of Staff, Warrior Care and Transition, says this event is about more than the competition. "The DoD Warrior Games is not only about the sports, or the pursuit to win, but something more profound. It is the bond we share in upholding our Warrior Ethos to always place the mission first, never accept defeat, never quit, and never leave a fallen comrade!"

Since 2010, the Warrior Games have aided in the recovery and rehabilitation of our nation's wounded, ill, and injured service men and women as they prepare to return to duty or transition to the civilian world. St Laurent believes that Warrior Games offers a progress report for our Soldiers.

"Warrior Games gives these Soldiers the opportunity to show the resilience and strength they each possess as a result of their hard work and continues to aid in their recovery. By participating in adaptive reconditioning sports our service men and women are showing the world what they are made of: pure tenacity and honor."

More than 250 active-duty service members and veterans are expected to compete at this year's Warrior Games.

Army Warrior Care is proud to announce the members of this year's Team Army.

Staff Sgt. Ross Alewine
Sgt. Ernesto Altamirano
Sgt. Aaron Averre
Retired Cpt. Tim Bomke
Retired Cpt. Steve Bortle
Retired Sgt. Karla Caldera
Sgt. 1st Class Hyoshin Cha
Master Sgt. Rolando Colon
Sgt. David Crook
Sgt. Samuel Daniels
Master Sgt. Aaron De Los Santos
Spc. Angela Euson
Retired Sgt. Anthony Farve
Sgt. 1st Class Daniel Foiles
Retired Sgt. Brent Garlic
Retired Staff Sgt. Michael Helmen
Sgt. Cory Ivins
Pfc. Lauren Jahn
Spc. Stephanie Johnson
Staff Sgt. Altermese Kendrick
Cpt. Eric Lintelmann
Col. Michael Malone
Retired Sgt. Christopher McGinnis
Sgt. Christopher Montes
Sgt. 1st Class Heather Moran
Sgt. 1st Class Daniel Ohlinger
Staff Sgt. Matthew Olsen
Staff Sgt. Dorian Rhoten
Cpt. Kenny Rodgers
Sgt. 1st Class Julio Rodriguez
Staff Sgt. Tiffany Rodriguez-Rexroad
Staff Sgt. Shawn Runnels
Sgt. 1st Class James Shields
Sgt. Brent Sixkiller
Maj. Christina Truesdale
Sgt. Jonathan Weasner
Spc. Konnie Wells
Retired Cpt. Alex Wilson
Sgt. Steven Wurth
Cpt. Maya Yacoub