Meet Your Army: Sgt. David Dell, 597th Transportation Brigade Soldier, reflects on accomplishments

By Mr. Zack Shelby (597th Transportation Brigade)January 5, 2017

Meet Your Army: Sgt. David Dell, 597th Transportation Brigade
(Photo Credit: U.S. Army) VIEW ORIGINAL

Sgt. David Dell is a senior forklift operator with the 689th Rapid Port Opening Element/833rd Transportation Battalion/597th Transportation Brigade. Dell, who was promoted to sergeant Sept. 1. He has been in the Army for more than two and half years, including more than two years at his current duty station at Joint Base Langley-Eustis, Virginia, where he also completed Advanced Individual Training. He completed Basic Training at Fort Jackson, South Carolina.

Get to know a little more about Dell from the Q&A below.

Q: Where were you born, and where did you grow up?

A: I was born in Havre de Grace, Maryland, but lived in Germany until age 11 and then moved to Gulfport, Mississippi, where I lived until I was 20. Then I joined the Army.

Q: When you were young, what did you want to do when you grew up?

A: Definitely basketball.

Q: What inspired you to join the Army and pursue a career in the Army?

A: I went to community college for a semester and didn't really like it. I needed to get my feet into something and this (the Army) was the choice. Plus my dad was in the military (Army). It's been a good start.

Q: What do you consider to be your greatest achievement both personally and professionally?

A: Personally and professionally it would be Air Assault School at Fort Pickett, Virginia, and making sergeant in two and a half years. Air Assault School was really tough. I call it the 10 worst days of my life. But, looking back, it was a great experience. My dad was Air Assault and he used to say that if you get the badge (Air Assault) then you're hard like woodpecker lips. It was definitely a big accomplishment. I like to think I'm doing pretty well. I'm surprised at how fast I've been moving in the Army.

Q: What motivates you?

A: Growing up, I was raised to have pride in everything you do because everything you do is a representation of yourself. That's what keeps me going.

Q: What's something that other people might know about you?

A: One thing a lot of people don't know is that I am German and speak it, but besides that I pretty much am who I am -- what you see is what you get. Some people know because they hear me on the phone with my mom because I speak German with her.

Q: Are you married? Do you have family?

A: Single Soldier. Family is still in Gulfport, Mississippi.

Q: What is your favorite song or artist that if you were alone, you might get caught singling along?

A: I couldn't even tell you. I'm not big on genres of music and artists. I don't remember the names. When a song comes on, if I like it, I like it.

Q: What hobbies do you enjoy when you are not at work?

A: I'm a gym person. I've pretty big on going to the gym. I go six days a week.