ROCK ISLAND ARSENAL, Ill., - Maj. Gen. Robert M. Radin, Army Sustainment Command commander and Illowa Bi-State CFC honorary chair, praised the people and organizations behind this year's record-breaking Combined Federal Campaign at a ceremony held Feb. 10, 2009 at the Navy Operational Support Center Rock Island.

"What continues to impress me is the involvement of the people in this campaign. I define success not only by dollars, but in our ability to reach out to our employees and afford them the opportunity to give," said Radin.

Federal and postal employees donated a $696,575 to local, national and international charities, exceeding the goal by almost five percent.

"We reached farther than I thought we could go in very tough economic times, and this is a tribute to every federal employee in the 24 county area," said Debra Gudlewski, Illowa Bi-State CFC chair.

With 48 percent of donations staying in the Quad City area, 32 percent of federal and postal workers in the 24 county area donated to 2,000 of the approximately 2,500 charities. The top three agencies with the highest donations were United Way of the Quad Cities, Humane Society of Rock Island County and the Humane Society of Scott County.

New this year's campaign was an essay contest, where employees shared accounts of how a CFC charity helped them and their families. First place winner Lori McFate read her essay, in which she described her fight with cancer and how a CFC agency supported her.

"A CFC supported charity is the reason I am alive and able to submit this entry," McFate said.

Award-wining people and organizations recognized were:

Most Innovative Campaign - Civilian Personnel Advisory Center

Postal Excellence Award - Rockford, Illinois USPS

Organizational Participation Awards (greatest participation per group size):

- Transportation Security Administration - 73% (small organization)

- U.S. Army Garrison Rock Island Arsenal - 65% (medium organization)

- Joint Munitions Command - 49% (large organization)

Key Person of the Year: Patty Badtram, Army Sustainment Command

Essay Contest Winners:

- First Place - Lori McFate, U.S. Army TACOM Life Cycle Management Command

- Second Place - Dawn Stanley, U.S. Army TACOM Life Cycle Management Command

- Third Place - Rene Robinson, U.S. Army Sustainment Command

Essay Contest Certificate of Participation:

- Donna Evans - U.S. Army Civilian Human Resources Agency

- James McFarlen - U.S. Army Joint Munitions Command

- Marcia Jay - U.S. Army Garrison Rock Island Arsenal

More information on the Illowa Bi-State Combined Federal Campaign and winning essays are available at General information on the national campaign is available on the U.S. Office of Personnel Management's Web site, at