REDSTONE ARSENAL, Ala. (Jan. 22, 2015) --Those who were inducted into the Army Materiel Command's Hall of Fame in a Jan. 22 ceremony here say this is the type of honor that is not earned alone."It's with the help of a lot of great people that you get this type of award," said Retired Maj. Gen. Oscar Decker, Jr. who is one of five members of the AMC Hall of Fame Class of 2014. "It's the great people who work with you and for you."AMC Commander Gen. Dennis L. Via inducted the newest members to the command's Hall of Fame. Four of the five members are living. Two attended the ceremony. The others were represented by family or close friends.Former Command Counsel Edward Korte is among the Class of 2014. While he retired 13 years ago, he recalled the affection he always held for the people he worked with and the institution itself."I was proud to work for AMC every day," Korte said. "It was more than a job, and that was something I emphasized with my people. We had a mission to help Soldiers all over the world. Your difficult days get a little easier, knowing what you're doing is important."A selection board reviewed 21 nominees put forth as contenders for the Hall of Fame. President of the Board, AMC Deputy Chief of Staff Brig. Gen. Edward Daly said the nominees all had distinguished careers."It was a difficult decision, but these inductees and their successes stood out," Daly said. "Naming these new members to the Hall of Fame helps recognize those lasting contributions and also preserves our history."AMC's Hall of Fame was established in 2012 to recognize individuals who made significant contributions to the command and the Army. Nominees are evaluated on their contributions to one or more of AMC's core missions or the lasting impacts they made on the command.Class of 2014 member Isabelle Hansen said she was surprised and appreciative of the honor. While at least one of her programs earned the secretary of defense's praise while she was still on the job, she said it's also nice to be recognized for the enduring policies and programs she established as the deputy for procurement and production of the Armament Munitions and Chemical Command, which was located at Rock Island, Illinois."I never dreamed I'd be in the AMC Hall of Fame," Hansen said. "But I do feel proud that what we did has a lasting effect on the management of the acquisition program at Rock Island, resulting in continued savings to the government over the years."Deputy Command Historian Claus Martel said the Hall of Fame Class of 2014 differs from the preceding class that included five senior level leaders, four of them generals."This year's class covers the gamut -- from the leadership of an Army general to a dedicated woman who began her successful career as a clerk typist during World War II," Martel said.A lawyer, engineer and scientist round out the list of this year's inductees."The class of 2014 embodies the varied talent and expertise at AMC and its members all made an enduring mark on the command."This year's inductees include the following:Maj. Gen. Oscar C. Decker, Jr.: Former TACOM commander under whose leadership some of the Army's most enduring ground vehicles were developed.Isabelle Hansen: Hansen began her career as a clerk typist and rose to the ranks of the Senior Executive Service, establishing innovative programs that saved millions and paved the way for better working relationships with contractors and industry.Edward J. Korte: Former senior legal counsel recognized for his work in preventative law and proactive mission involvement.Dr. Robert S. Wiseman (deceased): Founding director of the Night Vision Laboratory who made significant scientific and philosophic contributions that fostered innovation and technological success.William C. Pittman: Supported the famed German rocket team that launched the Redstone missile and advanced the research and development of the Army's missile programs.