Brooke Army Medical Center's was recently awarded the 3rd Quarter Army Medical Command Wolf Pack Award.

The Army Surgeon General Lt. Gen. Patricia Horoho recognized and congratulated the Center for the Intrepid staff via video teleconference May 7.

Gregg Stevens, the Army Medical Department Civilian Corps chief, presented the award on her behalf to Army Col. Donald Gajewski, CFI director. BAMC Commander Col. Kyle Campbell, Command Sgt. Maj. Tabitha Gavia and Southern Regional Medical Command Commander Maj. Gen. Jimmie Keenan were also present at the event.

The CFI staff was recognized for its exceptional teamwork working together with patients to maximize the effectiveness of rehabilitation to get back to military or civilian life.

An outpatient rehabilitation facility, the CFI was conceived by the Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund and was built by the donations of over 600,000 Americans. Consisting of 63 full time staff members including 7 Veterans Health Affairs and 2 Veterans Benefit Administration staff, the center cares for more than 3,500 outpatients a month. Its collaboration between the patients and staff has proven the teamwork methodology of success.

"There is no doubt that we have an amazing team. None of us; however, would dream about receiving this award without our patients being present," said Gajewski, as he spoke to the audience.

"We have the privilege of taking care of some of the most amazing people you could ever hope to meet. Our patients motivate us on a daily basis. They make us better clinicians. They make us better human beings. So on behalf of the team at the CFI and especially the patients who have come through our doors, I am honored to receive the Wolf Pack Award."

The Wolf Pack Award is a quarterly award created by the Army Surgeon General and the Chief of the Army Medical Department Civilian Corps to recognize exceptional teamwork by an integrated group of military and civilian team members focused on excellence in support of Army Medicine.

The CFI will compete for the Annual 2014 Wolf Pack of the Year Award later this year.