Twenty-four of the Army's finest Warriors, representing 12 commands from across the Army, will report to Fort Lee, Va., Nov. 19-22 to compete in the 2013 Best Warrior Competition. Described as the "Super Bowl" of Army competitions, the Best Warrior Competition will celebrate its twelfth anniversary this year.

This year the U.S. Army Military District of Washington's Best Warrior competitors are Spc. Michael Sands and Sgt. Robert Keifer, both infantrymen from Delta Company, 1st Battalion, 3d U.S. Infantry Regiment (The Old Guard).

Sergeant Major of the Army Ray Chandler will oversee the annual competition which names the Department of the Army's Soldier and Noncommissioned Officer of the Year.

Warriors selected to compete for the prestigious titles have mastered a series of benchmarks throughout the year to qualify for the Army-wide, Best Warrior Competition. Warriors for Soldier of the Year include the ranks of private through specialist, and warriors for NCO of the Year include ranks corporal through sergeant first class. All Army active duty, National Guard and Reserve component Soldiers are eligible to compete.

The Warriors represented in the competition compete on behalf of these Army Commands: U.S. Army Forces Command, U.S. Army Training and Doctrine Command, U.S. Army Europe, U.S. Army Materiel Command, U.S. Army Medical Command, U.S. Army Pacific Command, U.S. Army Space and Missile Defense Command, U.S. Army Special Operations Command, U.S. Army Installation Management Command, U.S. Army Reserve Command, U.S. Army National Guard, and the National Capitol Region.

The Competition

During the three-day competition, these elite competitors will test their Army aptitude, conquering urban warfare simulations, board interviews, physical fitness tests, written exams, and Warrior tasks and battle drills relevant to today's operating environment.

In addition, Warriors will go before a selection board comprised of six senior sergeants major from across the Army. These boards, chaired by Sergeant Major of the Army Ray Chandler, evaluate competitor appearance, military bearing and knowledge of critical Army topics.

Competition winners will be announced on the evening of the final day of the competition, Nov. 22, at Fort Lee, Va. The awards ceremony will be broadcast live at

The Soldier and Noncommissioned Officer of the Year will receive prestigious honors in recognition of their achievements and represent the Army at special events throughout their 2013-2014 tenure.